How to Get Browser to Always Request Desktop Site

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by Kirk, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    i know i haveseen this before but a search did not bring up results.
    i want the tablet browser to always request desktop site instead of the mobile site.
    i rember it had to uze settings and labs but dont know the rest. perhaps this in not a ailable in 4.0 ICS?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    You didn't mention the browser, all have a different way to get to it but if it;s the default "globe" settings - advanced - always request desktop site.
     
  3. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    yes it is the default browser.
    please define "globe".
    under settings, advanced I do not get an option for always request desktop site so I cannot choose that.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    The globe is the world, (blue), icon and is the default browser. Not certain why you don't see the setting. On mine it displays on the first settings page AND in advanced.
     
  5. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    actually i assume (you know that joke) it is the default browser. How can i confirm what browser is used?
    i do see the blue globe when on the settings page
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    If you haven't installed any other browsers it would be the default. If you installed other browsers but selected another browser at some point when prompted, as the default then you have a new default browser. I should have referred to it as the stock browser. My bad.
     
  7. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    yes I believe it is the stock browser. i have not replaced it and I do see the blue world when in the settings page.
    do you know how ckeck manually if there is an update for the browser just in case i have automatic updates turned off somehow. i dont even know the name of the browser app.
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    The stock browser only updates when your tablet gets an update. There are lots of other great (I think better), browsers available. Firefox, Next Browser, Dolphin Browser and more. Those all support Flash Player as well.
     
  9. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Thanks leshore,
    Can you confirm if version 4.0.3 is the current version for the stock browser?
    if it is not the current versionI dont know how to update since I dont think we are going to see any more system updates for the tablet O/S.

    I will look into one of the alternate browsers also.
     
  10. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    The ONLY way, (unless possibly if you are rooted), to get any more current version of any stock app, including the browser would be through a system update/upgrade. Mine happens to be 4.2.1 which so happens to match the version of Android on my tablet.
     
  11. Kirk

    Kirk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    leeshor,
    Thanks for that information. my version on the browser also matches the android version number 4.0.3. I dont want to root the device for the higher version of android/browser. i think i will start looking at some of the alternate browsers now.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

always request desktop site

,
android always request desktop site
,
android browser always desktop site
,

android browser always request desktop site

,
android request desktop site
,
android stock browser request desktop site
,
android tablet always request desktop site
,
dolphin desktop site always
,
how to request a desktop site on android tablet
,
how to request desktop site on acer tablet
,
how to request desktop site on motorola tablet
,
request desktop site android
,
request desktop site android default browser
,
request desktop site dolphin
,
request desktop site on tablet
,
request desktop site tab android
,
request desktop site with android tab
,
seting globe dolpin browse
,
tablet always request desktop
,
what is request desktop site on next tablet