How to remove an application's preferences?

iloveuplay

Jan 15, 2013
Hi there! I am very new to the tablet scene and need a bit of assistance. I was downloading an app for the first time, and a screen popped up with preferences. One of the preferences gave me pause: giving the app full network access. I do not want an app to be able to control my tablet. If they (the apps) need to have it, then I guess I will just have to do without them. I tried to delete them 50 different way, but just could not figure it out. If anyone is familiar with how to delete some preferences from an app, please let me know.

Thank you so much!

Spider

Administrator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2011
Hi iloveuplay, congratulations on your new tablet and welcome to the forum. Nice to have you as a member of Android Tablets. I'm moving your thread to the Android Tablet Q&A section for you, where more people are likely to join the discussion and try to help you find out if it's possible to delete some preferences from an app. Good luck!

Traveller

Administrator
Staff member
Jun 16, 2012
You can't remove permissions from an app without rewriting the entire app. However, if you root your tablet there are a couple options open to you. If looking solely to deny Internet access to specific apps, you can install Droidwall to control the tablet's IP tables. If you need to be able to selectively deny permissions, look for Permissions Denied and install it. Or you could install both.

The two apps work in different ways. Droidwall is specifically to prevent apps from accessing the Internet in any way, shape, or form. For example, using Droidwall to prevent Adobe Acrobat from accessing the Internet. Permissions Denied can not only prevent the app from accessing the Internet, it can also deny the app permission to do many other things, such as accessing the GPS to be able to determine your location.