How to root Titan TR810 tablet? (Android 2.3.1)

laz7

Jul 16, 2012
Hi all, android newbie here.

I have a Titan tablet, model TR810 with a Rockchip 2918 CPU and Android 2.3.1. I want to root it in order to install Linux in it. I searched on this site but didn't find instructions for this specific device, only for other RK2918 devices, so I'm not sure if they will work for this device. Will the gingerbreak hack work, being it -as I think- intended for Android 2.3? (My android version is 2.3.1). Another related question: In case the rooting doesn't work, will it "brick" the tablet?

Thanks in advance for any help!

chrislj74

Jul 16, 2012
My rk2918 tablet runs 4.03 and I was able to root it. I used adb root method. The correct driver's for your specific tablet will be your biggest hurdle. They have to be edited for the correct pid/vid of your device. I could point you to the guide I used and it should work for you given you swap the driver info.

laz7

Jul 16, 2012
Hi, chrislj74, thanks for your answer. When you say the drivers must be edited, you mean, only for rooting? (I don't intend to upgrade android yet, only rooting it). Anyway, please do post the link to the guide, so I can have an idea of what are the steps involved :)

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:

chrislj74

Jul 16, 2012
Yeah the driver editing is only for getting adb to work. If it already works with your device it's simple. The actual rooting is done by the Rootthat application. Do you know the pid and vid of your device? If it's the same as mine I can just give you them and save a few steps. I might ad that I rooted mine using Windows 7 so I can't comment on other OS'es.

laz7

Jul 16, 2012