How to Stop Certain Apps from Loading ....

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by vja4Him, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    There are many apps that keep loading, not only after a Reboot, but even when I use System Monitor to stop all programs, then when I open an app and check System Monitor again, a bunch of apps have relaunched!

    This is really annoying, especially when memory is at a premium on the Archos 70 ....
     
  2. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    This may be a stupid question, which apps or services are you having issues. Have you thought about just not using them? ie Uninstall them.
    Apps and services like PCs will autoload and set to run if that is what they are configured to do.
    I ended up uninstalling Fring and some of the other preinstalled as I knew I would not use them.
     
  3. hoben02

    hoben02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    usa
    Tablet / Device:
    epad zenithink zt-180
    I just run app "advanced task killer" after startup to free up memory
     
  4. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    Most of the apps that are preloading are apps that I use, so deleting them is not an option. For now I'm stuck with using the System Monitor quite often to force quit apps that are running. Strange that sometimes when I quit all the running apps, I end up with less available memory! Often, even force quitting all running apps only saves a small amount of memory.

    And, sometimes even when I force quit the running apps, as soon as I open even just one app, many apps reopen.

    On my MacPro, I never need to worry about apps running in the background, but with the Archos tablet, there isn't much working memory available ....
     
  5. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    There is an app called startup auditor. You can use it to select which apps you want to run on startup, and which apps you want to get auto-loaded again once your phone is booted up.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    Good Point, I forget about this app. I only use it for diagnostics. Keep in mind. This is a point of progress. Prior versions would be single app threads. and you would be limited in multiple apps running. Froyo allows this. Unfortunately, the flip side is some apps keep running when no longer needed.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. jkane

    jkane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    Auto Memory Manager helps to set the automatic built in task killer be a bit more agressive. I like it on my Archos. It's still not agressive enough. I may tweak it more. I still use a one click task killer that I have taught which apps I don't ever need like ... fring is a great example! Why does it need to run all the time? Grrrr. Some day I hope to set Auto Memory tight enough to keep enough memory, but not so tight that it kills stuff that has to restart to use the tablet.

    On my HTC Desire, though it kills the HTC Sense at random intervals though. I have not been abkle to fine tune it yet to keep that from happening. Not a big deal, as it just flashes a white screen and reloads. It's a few seconds I have to wait when I turni it on some days.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    Here is a list I typed up today of all the running apps (most I had not opened myself, they just open up on their own):

    1) System Monitor (always on the desktop)
    2) Calendar Storage
    3) Google Services Framework
    4) Online Firmware Update
    5) Bluetooth Share
    6) Smart Notes
    7) Temp+CPU V2 (always on the desktop)
    8) Calendar
    9) RealPlayer
    10) Health
    11) Medscape
    12) mSpot
    13) Settings (always on the desktop)
    14) TuneSync Lite
    15) ToDo Task Manager-Lite
    16) Gallery
    17) Search

    14 of these I did not open! But they were still running ....
     
  9. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    -sigh-

    Another Task killer debate. I apologize if I seem a bit "linky" here but this is a thread at Droidforums.net about Task killers: Task Killers... The Answer from Google & Developers.
    Long story short, its recommended not to use an automated task killer on top of Android because Android just pre-loads apps into memory anyway. I know it sucks, I had a similar frustration when I first got my Motorola Droid, it also had only 256 Megs RAM.
    My Droid2Global is running great, though, with 1.2 Ghz and 512 RAM. I've noticed its not always the processor, having the extra RAM really helps.

    Now back to your frustration. A lot of those apps aren't really running, they are just pre-loaded into RAM, and really just "sitting" there. There was a discussion about linux and when Microsoft was first coming out with Windows Vista. Windows Vista would literally pre-load all kinds of crap into RAM because unused RAM is really....kinda worthless. Now some Operating systems use free memory effectively, and others just pre-load it with anything they can find regardless if you (the user) is going to use that app or not.

    I specified "Startup Auditor" in a previous thread because you can use it to disable certain apps from booting up with your Android device, and you can also choose to disable those apps from running when Android is already on. As far as I know it doesn't "kill" apps, it just prevents them from starting. A lot of Android system processes and apps show up on the list, so I would be careful which apps you choose to disable.

    You must remember if you do use it and you disable it from auto-starting, you can personally start it yourself just by opening up your app drawer and pressing on the icon anyway.

    However if there are apps you don't even see yourself using...why don't you just uninstall it and be done with it?

    Please note to leave homescreen widgets off the list, too.

    Another thing you can do is when you are done inside an app, press the "back" button instead of the "home" button. The "back" button is the closest thing Android has to a "close" button. The app still has information stored in your RAM, but is no longer taking processor power. Pressing the "Home" button from inside an app will take you to the home screen, but leave the app actually "running" in the background, still taking processor power.

    Just remember that Android itself will clear RAM on its own if it needs some.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  10. vja4Him

    vja4Him Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 80 G9 250GB Tablet
    Thanks for the heads up! I'm glad that I haven't downloaded any of the app killers yet ... I was concerned there might be issues. I've read on numerous forums of people having problems with the various app killers.

    I'm not sure what you mean by:

    "Please note to leave homescreen widgets off the list, too."

    If the Archos 70 doesn't need any app killers, then why are there a variety of app killers available?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  11. ailima

    ailima Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Your initial question would be the best solution. Apps running in the background use up resources. On a low memory device, the OS spends cpu time:

    1) trying to load an app (that you don't need loaded)
    2) removing other apps from RAM to free up enough to load the app (that you don't want loaded)

    Task killers are only a partial solution (if at all) ... they do the same thing as the OS. They are probably a little more efficient at it - but that efficiency can cause problems with certain apps.

    The real solution would be to prevent the apps from loading in the first place. I have yet to see an app do that with a simple interface. (Though I haven't looked in a while). I bought "Autostarts" way back in the day (G1) ... rough interface. I might try it again though. I'll also try Startup Auditor. Gemini looks really interesting too.

    Good luck!
     
  12. JoSCh

    JoSCh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Thanks for the great info regarding task killers Bilgediver. That post could be sticky imo.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
why so many start up tasks on android tablet
,
android ehy apps autoload run prevent
,
android stop facebook from loading
,
android tablet auto loading ad
,
android tablet prevent certain app update
,
archos g9 tablet close running programs
,
archos tablet application stop
,
hoe to force start an app on asus andriod ipad
,
how can i block app loading in ram
,

how do you stop apps from reopening in android

,
how to prevent android apps from loading at start up
,
how to stop applications from loading on a tablet
,
how to stop apps and keep them from reopening on my tablet
,
how to stop certain apps in android
,
how to stop multiple apps from loading on tablet start up
,
how to stop self loaded applications on android
,
on android tablet how do you keep apps from running on start up
,
turn off programs archos 80
,
why do apps auto load on android tablets
,
why does android keep loading apps