I bricked my acer iconia a500. How do i fix it without sending it in?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by DearTraveler, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. DearTraveler

    DearTraveler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    i tried to flash a rom to it and things didn't work so well.. Now everytime i turn it on the screen is black and constantly vibrates. I tried using the reset button on the side and holding the power and volume down button. none of these work. I can't get to the recovery but i know if i could i could reflash stock android. Anyone have any idea?
     
  2. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    If you can't reboot into recovery by holding down the power & - volume button, you can't flash a ROM. How where you trying to flash a ROM in the first place? did you install Acer Recovery Installer & flash Clockwork Mod recovery?
     
  3. DearTraveler

    DearTraveler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    yea.. it took me to a boot menu and it said "would you like to flash zip file" or something like that and i said yes.. clicked yes a few times it restarted and was bricked..
     
  4. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    & you can't boot into Clockwork Mod Recovery by holding Power & - Vol button?
    Which update.zip did you try to install? was it a custom ROM? Did you follow instructions? Your description is vague..
     
  5. DearTraveler

    DearTraveler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    I think i did.. i used acer recovery installer and loaded a rom called prime ( i think ) it was based on the asus epad.. i didn't name it update i left it with the original name but it gave me an option to load a zip file.. it asked me if i wanted prime.zip ( i think ) and i clicked yes.. the first time i booted it had the acer logo.. second time completely blank.. sorry about being vague i just don't know exactly what i did wrong.. i know i didn't make a backup and i think that i did something wrong which left it with no recovery which is why it boots into endless emptiness..
     
  6. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Welcome to bricksville! ;)
    You clearly did not follow instructions... where did you get the ROM?
    All custom ROM's are to be installed through ClockWorkMod using itsmagic, not through the Acer Recovery Installer app... :eek:
    You were suppose to flash thor's CWM recovery image from the Acer Recovery Installer app.
    Reboot into CWM recovery, WIPE EVERYTHING!
    then install the custom ROM from within recovery..

    try this --> http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...set-a500-what-acer-support-wont-tell-you.html
    then try this --> post #8 -> http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...olding-yellow-triangle-exclamation-point.html

    WARNING: to anyone else who might attempt this..

    this is a video tutorial on how you were suppose to do this... sorry your watching this alittle late..



    PS. If you consider contacting Acer about this, don't mention you tried flashing a ROM.
    Just rooting your tablet voids Warranty
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  7. DearTraveler

    DearTraveler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    neither of these worked.. same black screen + vibration.. Acer would have some way to just reboot it if i sent it in. is there any other way i could do that from here?
     
  8. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    check out this thread --> [DEV] itsmagic - xda-developers , PM sc2k with your issue, he might be willing to help you along the way.. not a simple task but can be done.
     
  9. DearTraveler

    DearTraveler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    This also did not work.. my device can't even be read by the computer. it just turns on and vibrates. no screens or menus or anything
     
  10. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Send it to Acer & hope they dont charge for repair.
    Just don't mention what you did... ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. DearTraveler

    DearTraveler Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    thanks anyways.. now with the instructions i shouldn't mess it up next time
     
  12. daveloves

    daveloves Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    East Coast
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab 500 (HP Tab 4.0)
    This is some great information and i need to say it. Then try it on my wasted white screen acer iconia tab. Thanks
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
a500 cannot boot into recovery
,
acer a500 bricked recovery
,
acer iconia a500 bricked
,
acer iconia a500 repair bricked
,
acer iconia tab 10 soft bricked after reset
,
acer soft brick
,
acer tablet has bricked
,
aceri iconia a500 soft brick
,
how do you fix a hard bricked acer a500 tablet
,
how dp i fix acer tablet
,
how to fix bricked acer a500
,
how to repair acer tablet rom
,
install custom recovery on acer iconia a500 bricked
,

install cwm on bricked a500

,
itsmagic for acer iconia a500
,

reflash acer a500

,
reflashing tablet acer iconia
,
repair soft brick tab
,
unbrick acer a500
,
unbrick acer iconia a500