I cant get it to connect to my computer

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by nsw8148, May 1, 2011.

  1. nsw8148

    nsw8148 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Alaska
    Tablet / Device:
    Streak, Asus Transformer(on the way)
    I downloaded the driver from the Acer website and installed it, connected my a500, and nothing shows up when I choose "turn on USB sync"


    On my Streak, it makes the device show up in "my computer"



    Any suggestions?
     
  2. pentool

    pentool Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    There are two different programs offered for download at Acer. One is a USB driver, which looks like you downloaded. This allows you to see your tablet in Win explorer and copy stuff to/from.

    The other is an application for windows which is the USB Acer Sync program. That is what you need to sync via USB.
     
  3. nsw8148

    nsw8148 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Alaska
    Tablet / Device:
    Streak, Asus Transformer(on the way)
    The driver is the one I can't get to work I can't explore my device :-(

    I had to email my book to myself to get it on here. Really cool tablet though, going to have a lot of fun with it :)

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. sontan

    sontan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 / Atrix
    I am running windows 7 and when i hooked up my A500 via the USB adapter to the PC it reconized it right away. It just showed up as an external hard drive. I didn't have to do anything at all to make it work. I xfer'd a couple movies and music that way with no issues at all.
     
  5. sm4rtr3tard

    sm4rtr3tard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Icona A500
    What os you using?

    Sent from my LG-P999 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  6. nsw8148

    nsw8148 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Alaska
    Tablet / Device:
    Streak, Asus Transformer(on the way)
    Windows vista. It makes the connecting noise, but nothing shows up other than that. Oh well, I guess I'll just fiddle with it some more.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  7. pentool

    pentool Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I do confirm that you do not need the driver if you use Win 7. Initially I have not even thought about it and went ahead installed the driver as Acer said, before connecting my tablet. But now I uninstalled it, reboot, and the tablet is visible and workable just fine via USB (Win 7 Ultimate x64).
     
  8. sm4rtr3tard

    sm4rtr3tard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Icona A500
    Only two tested systems that I know it works on is windows 7 and ubuntu. A little bit of tinkering will go far. Post your fix when you figure it out. Im curious how it differs from W7, as well as it will help others.

    Sent from my LG-P999 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  9. nsw8148

    nsw8148 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Alaska
    Tablet / Device:
    Streak, Asus Transformer(on the way)
    When my wife gets home i'll try her laptop out, it has windows 7 on it.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  10. taichimaster

    taichimaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    acer tab a500
    when you got it to work with acer sync did you us the regular usb plug or the micro usb plug. I don't have a male/male usb plug so I'm trying the micro usb plug and I can't get the micro usb connector to fix, too tight of a fit.

    Just wanting to know if anyone got the micro usb to work before I go get a male/male regular usb cable.

    Ken
     
  11. JPaul

    JPaul Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    170
    Location:
    AZ
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Running VISTA here and using USB cable that came with the tablet. Tab shows up as external device but the 32 Gig SD does not show up at all. Sync will not find the tablet.
    JPaul
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cannot get my droid to connect to may acer aspire

,
cant connect my pc with acer iconia a500
,
why my pc cannot see my iconia tablet