Iconia a500 3.1 update is out or leaked should I say.

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by JamesH, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
  2. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    You are way to late.

    This has been posted before, and it is highly suspect, and a lot of people are having problems with it.

    READ all 28 pages of the XDA log before you try this, its been very problematic for lots of people.
    Regardless of what the thread title says, it is NOT 100% real and it is NOT official.
    Is 100% real, The Acer official 3.1 Has come! - xda-developers
     
  3. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I did advise caution
     
  4. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I am unable to get it to work as of yet, Ill will report back once I give up or succede
     
  5. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    FYI , At this time I can confirm that the update I linked to does work and registeres as 3.1 , I can also confirm expandable widgets. I will continue to monitor stability.. Thanks !
     
  6. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    $2011-06-27_16-48-40_232.jpg Here is a pic confirming what i have said, albeit blurry .. Enjoy
     
  7. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Tap What has been using the battery and see if Cell Standby is still running.

    Also I notice the Kernel version is the same, and Build Number is no where to be seen. Scroll down and see if you can find a Build number.
     
  8. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Cell standb at 17% :(
    Acer_A500_3.019.04_com_gen1

    bugs so far...crash when opening games app drawer, 1 browser crash' was having a media server crash as well.. going to reboot and try again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  9. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Crap, so cell Standby STILL not fixed!

    Anyway I'm glad to have this documented so that when the OTA update comes we can see if it is really Acer_A500_3.019.04_com_gen1.

    Because the "com" part of that number implies North America but the leak came from China. Euro versions have different code in that portion I believe.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  10. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Glad i could help the movement in a small way.. still running.. no other inconsistancies yet.
     
  11. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Others are reporting Gmail problems. See any of that?
     
  12. MrBlazito

    MrBlazito Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Also test your GPS...some saying it has improved and some are saying it no longer works.
     
  13. MrBlazito

    MrBlazito Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    ohhh, and did you notice any improvement on screen sensitivity?
     
  14. shdw03

    shdw03 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    hawaii
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    xda is a great source. devs there are working hard to fix bugs. there are 6-7 different roms right now... some more stable than others. have fun reading....

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  15. JamesH

    JamesH Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Well i went to copy txt to respond to your requests with quotes and paste doesnt appear to be working. Gps for me says "Searching for Satelites" ? Gmail seems to work fine' I can send and receive so I dont know what specifically check. As far as screen sensitivity goes ive never had a problem.. I do have an invisishield installed so its not very semsitive anyhow.
     

Share This Page