Iconia Honeycomb 3.1 update and Root..

Discussion in 'Honeycomb' started by zealouz, May 26, 2011.

  1. zealouz

    zealouz Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tab | HTC Thunderbolt
    I read that the Iconia Tab is extremely easy to root (have not done it yet) but I have a question about rooted devices.

    If I were to root my tab would I be able to update to 3.1 Honeycomb in early June via the supposed over the air method that will be used or will the rooted device require a manual update? Don't want to root my tab until I know all the pros and cons...thanks in advance.
     
  2. nrage23

    nrage23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Veiwsonic Gtab
    Worst case you just unroot when the update comes out. I just did the new update from today without unrooting mine and it worked. The big thing with the Iconia is not to remove the stock programs or you will not be able to update. You can remove them but you need to save a copy somewhere and replace them before you update.
     
  3. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    Here is a general answer to this question (which does get asked a lot)...

    Once a device is rooted, it can be un-rooted
    Once a device is flashed, it can be restored to stock

    Rooted devices can sometimes receive OTA updates and sometimes can't, but I have yet to see a case where if there IS an OTA, the dev community has not taken it as an opportunity to at least harvest what goodies are included and providing that functionality elsewhere, or as a manual update.

    Hope this helps, in a general sense
     
  4. zealouz

    zealouz Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tab | HTC Thunderbolt
    @ nrage23 You stated that you did the 3.1 update already? if so, where did you find it? Acer.usa site?

    Thanks for the quick responses...gonna have to learn some more about all this rooting stuff before I try it. I will definitely be doing a lot of research via searches and the android forums.

    The rooting process for the Iconia Tab using gingerbreak seems so EASY though...i do like easy!

    Maybe I'll just wait to do the update to 3.1 then wait for someone to root that version...
     
  5. lord_voldemort

    lord_voldemort Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    3.1 isn't out for the iconia yet. Nrage23 was referring to the update that came out yesterday in the US. It just patched some bugs such as screen waking up, GPS and wifi issues, and I'm not sure what else.
     
  6. CarlosTheGerbil

    CarlosTheGerbil Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    Just thought it may be useful to people to know that I have been talking to the Acer AusNZ guys on Facebook, and they have let me know that 6/23 is the planned date for 3.1 roll-out down under.

    $fbiconia.jpg
     
  7. PeteDee

    PeteDee Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Six days, waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.......
     
  8. akslar

    akslar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Tablet / Device:
    I500 acer
    sad news 23rd is here and still no update. Look like another rumour bites the dust. Still not end of the day yet.....

     
  9. koorpen

    koorpen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia a500
    Think I heard it before (re other brand in any case) :(
     
  10. PeteDee

    PeteDee Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    24th here and still nothing..... :-(
     
  11. chubsky

    chubsky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    iconia a500
    I used the tweaked version of gingerbreak from the xda forum and it roots well. I'm using titanium backup to freeze bloatware.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  12. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Chaps,

    The big 3.1 has hit ICONIA TABs in Kyneton in Downunder (Australia). 3 tabs in this household have been updated. Everything seems to be working fine. Improved wireless connection & USB support. Less buggy I noticed!
     
  13. hunted

    hunted Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia 500
    well wife and i both have a500 we got an update but it still shows 3.0 so not sure what the update was? i got mine at about 11:00 and the wife this morning at 5:30! still not sure though;-{ Has anyone got any idea or seen any app that checks the android version or what level of update it is at?
     
  14. msteve

    msteve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Still showing 3.01......no 3.1 update in NZ yet???

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  15. PeteDee

    PeteDee Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    From what I understand they pulled the update after a few people had problems. Mine is now on 3.1 and it is fine.

    Pete
     

Share This Page