ICS nighmare

Discussion in 'Ice Cream Sandwich' started by danley, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. danley

    danley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Updated my Acer a500 to ICS this morning and now its all screwed up. It freezes on the boot screen when I try to power up, I have to try this many times before it takes. When I get I finally get on, instead of going into sleep mode it powers off and I have to go through the freeze on the boot screen again, this happens even if I power it off and try to power on. Once it's on, everything runs just fine, it's just getting it on that's the problem. It has always worked perfectly until the ICS update:confused:. Would appreciate any help.
     
  2. Mrhelper

    Mrhelper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Try the factory reset, and then carefully test your system after each app you reload. Some popular task manager apps and posibly other apps are causing similar problems to what you have reported here... some much worse, and some not as bad. See the posts under "many issues with ICS update..."
     
  3. jesuppes

    jesuppes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    GA, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tablet
    I downloaded the ICS update helper from Google Play and made sure that all of my apps were updated, but have decided to hold off on the ICS update for now. I am seeing too many problems. When I tried to update to ICS, I got an error message that my wifi was not strong enough, which is not true. I think I'll chill a while until Acer works the "bugs" out.
     
  4. Stormium

    Stormium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Cube U9GT
    Have you tried 3rd party ROMs? I tend to find ROM chefs tend to test their stuff far more than the big companies do! It's definitely not a problem with ICS itself, I have a few devices on hand with it with no issues.
     
  5. danley

    danley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Thanks for your advice; I contacted Acer and they told me to do another factory reset and I did and no change so they told me to send it in to get repaired (still under warranty). So last Monday that's what I did. They even paid for shipping.
     
  6. tomsecreto

    tomsecreto Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Hypoluxo, FLORIDA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    This problem sounds just like the problem i had BEFORE the ICS update and i have been running the A500 since last May with no previous problems.

    I wound up with my tablet freezing (just the screen touch) and 3 trips to Acer and the final fix being a motherboard replcement, 2 screen replacements too.
    Now the ICS update came out and has been working great, seems more stable as well.

    I think, I have been in IT for many years, that there might be something wrong on the component side since when Googled the problem i found that the xoom & the Asus also had the same problem.

    This was extra important to me since I had selected the Acer for the mobile client for our Biometric authentication product "VSSA" which is for the enterprise and needs the ability to plug a sensor into a "Host" capable UsB port. The tablet could be used by customers but will be used for demonstration so this reliability is very important. I must say that other than this one issue the A500 has been really great even works with my 649GB USB drive using the NTFS format, it sees and uses the entire drive. Also the VPN connects to the company
    's network and the emulator (mocha) logs into the mainframe ever time.

    I hpe this helps
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2012
  7. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Well I'm one of those who hasn't had any major problems. Over the past week + I've done extensive testing of various apps, widgets and websites the A500 has not skipped a beat. I've put my A500 under a bit of a stress test opening almost half the apps.

    ICS solved an issue I had trying to play wmv files.
     

Share This Page