Ideas for a first time android user

Jason1313

Sep 2, 2010
Hey guys. I'm new to androids (not to tech) and I would get a android phone but I don't really have the extra money to put out a month for the internet. So I am looking for a tablet. My problem is portability. I want something that is pocket sized (iPod Touch is very nice) so I can bring it around with me. I have looked into the Archos tablets and they have problems (especially the touch screen). I am looking for a nice tablet around the price of $200. Please help me out. Thank you. -Jason

probbiethe1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 30, 2010
there are some great tablets out there the only issue is most of them are 7 inches and up there are some smaller ones out (5 inches ) and there are also smaller ones coming out (3.2 inches ) but my suggestion to you is just get an android phone off contract and then just use it over wifi like a mini tablet

Carbira1

Aug 7, 2010
Those can be a lot of money. It could be cheaper to get a tablet like the gentouch or some knockoff from china.

DaHanz

Aug 24, 2010
ARCHOS
Wouldn't this be a choice?

It's going to be released in october, only the pice is a bit over $200^^

Last edited:

tipstir

Developer
Aug 4, 2010
I recommend AuGen Gentouch78 at Kmart for $169. Gome Flytouch is popular but MPU is slower by 1/2. Those from $89 and up.

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
You say you want a PMP (Personal Media Player) sized tablet (4-5 Inch). These are not as popular or as inexpensive as the 7inch units. Probbiethe1 has the best recommendation or although you may have a bias, Archos is the current alternative. I admit I am biased and like Archos, But the older units can be expensive and are more of a PMP than a MID Tablet. I have no idea where you are, but here are two examples of Probbie. on the "bay and the Archos 5 IMT will be really inexpensive as the migrate to the newer model. One example is below as well
Android Phone Examples