im new with a couple questions

felipe31295

Jun 14, 2012
I just got my tablet, coby kyros mid8024, and with the stock theres so little i can do. My friend rooted my phone for me without any details, so i know what to do after a device is rooted, but my question is how to root the device in the first place. Any tips on how to understand how to read the instructions others post, do's and dont's, and is rooting a tablet different from a phone? I would like to root my tablet to gain its full potential, but im afraid of doing something wrong. any help would be appreciated greatly.

Last edited:

PinguimFU

May 30, 2012
To Root the phone you have to change the firmware (the software that runs the tablet) with a new image that have the tweeks inside to allow you to use root
you do so by puting the files from the desired firmware image on the SD Card and pushing POWER + Home (the central button) at the same time when you are powering the device on,this will get you in a rescue mode that have the option to upgrade the tablet using the image on the sd

Do s and Do Nots...

1 ALWAYS use a image that was made for your exact model of tablet you have,if you upgrade it with another.s tablet software you can brick it (it will not start) because many parts are diferent causing it to not work properly

2 Remember to do a full backup of the device before the upgrade so you dont lose anything cause the upgrade will format your tablet and install the new software..

3 Make sure it is plugged in and fully charged during the upgrade,if it power off during the upgrade that can cause it to have a corrupted software and also brick....

After it is rooted: