iPhone4 and Wifi Tether

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by eclipse3g, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. eclipse3g

    eclipse3g Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I'm new to the android scene, just got the A500 a couple of days ago.

    Where I'm having problems is getting the A500 to connect to the iPhone4's WiFi Hotspot.

    I've updated PDANet to 5.02 on the iPhone4 (AT&T by the way), I can activate the Hotspot and using WiFi manager on the A500 I can see the Hotspot but cannot connect to it.


    Has anyone managed to use their iphone4-pdanet to successfully to connect with the A500 so that the iphone is supplying the internet service.

    I've read thru what I can find here on this forum but am still at a loss to get this working, so any help or ideas would be appreciated.

    In the past I've never had problems doing this but this was with windows based laptops as PdaNet has software for doing this on either a PC or MAC but I've found no desktop applications for the Android family.

    thanks in advance,
     
  2. ChiTriGuy

    ChiTriGuy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I had to root my A500 and then replace my wpa_supplicant file in the system/bin folder to allow tethering on my iphone4. To my understanding, the stock file does not support adhoc which the iphone requires. Mine works great now, though.
     
  3. tonyblack

    tonyblack Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    The iPhone can provide an infrustructure WiFi network if you use the MiFi app.
     
  4. eclipse3g

    eclipse3g Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62

    Where did you get the modified wpa_supplicant file?
     
  5. eclipse3g

    eclipse3g Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Mission Accomplished.

    Thanks all for the info I got it working with the iphone, the key was to replace the wpa_supplicant in the system/bin directory, after rooting the devive I was able to use Root Explorer to replace the file and reset it's permissions.

    After rooting the device, here's what I did for others to follow

    It couldn't be easier, if you have root explorer it becomes a breeze.
    https://market.android.com/details?i...=search_result

    1. Move the new wpa_supplicant to your A500 via sd card, dropbox or cable copy.
    2. turn off your wifi
    3. Navigated to system/bin
    4. click mount R/W (top left) so it changes to Mount R/O)
    5. Then long hold on the file and select rename put old on the end
    6. Copy/cut and paste the existing wpa_supplicant file somewhere safe
    7. Then copy the new file from the extracted zip
    8. Navigate back to system/bin
    9. click mount R/W (top left) so it changes to Mount R/O)
    10. Paste the new wpa file in
    11. Then long hold on the file and select view permissions
    12. check/tick all the boxes in the first two columns and the first 2 in the last column. (chmod 775)
    13. restart wifi

    Added the wpa_supplicant file 14 Jun 11
    View attachment $wpa_supplicant_A500_wifi_adhoc.zip
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
    • Like Like x 2
  6. uplade3

    uplade3 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Asheville N.C.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II/SuperPAD Droid Charge/Razr, Galaxy S4
    Good instructions. I will sticky this.
     
  7. jhautz

    jhautz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500, iphone4
    Hmmm.... Very strange. I had no issue at all with getting the wifi tether to work with my A500 and my iphone4 personal hotspot. I just turned on the hotspot and scanned for available networks on the acer. I found it, selected it, and the acer asked for the password for the wifi iPhone hotspot. I entered it and everything worked. It does "loose" the connection once in a while and I have to turn the hotspot on the iPhone off and on again to get it to send data agin but that just seems to be an issue with he iPhone hotspot. It does the same thing when tethering to my laptop.
     
  8. CSMcDonald

    CSMcDonald Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    The only time I had an issue connecting to my iPhone 4 personal hotspot from my A500 was when I was using the default name of "User's iPhone" - the ' was getting translated oddly - I renamed my iPhone and problem went away.
     
  9. AndyInNYC

    AndyInNYC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NJ
    Tablet / Device:
    A500
    It's my understanding from reading on the web that AT&T is going to block users using MiFi/cancel their unlimited data accounts.

    Is there a root my iphone 4s/root my A500 solution which provides transparent (to AT&T) connections?
    I'm going to be travelling in a month or two for a few weeks in the US where the internet connections are spotty but the cell towers seem to work; I'd rather not change my data plan for those weeklong periods, but I'd like to use the tablet for internet access.

    I have the latest A500 firmware and the latest iOS (5.1.1?) on the phone.

    If this isn't a permissible topic, my apologies.

    Thanks,

    Andrew
     
  10. traye3005

    traye3005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    a500 4.0.3
    I have tried all of this with no luck!! I have a rooted a500 I have tried the processes at least 5 times with different wpa_supplicant files found on the web. Your instruction are great and I have learned alot about my a500 just wish i could get it to tether!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
acer a500 tether iphone 5
,
can i tether my acer phone to my iphone
,
connect iphone4 to android
,
how to tether from iphome 4s to acer tablet
,
if my iphone and tablet share the same wifi can i see what tablet is doing from phone
,
iphone tether for android tablets
,
tether acer a500 to iphone 4s
,

tethering iphone to acer iconia