Is the S7 capable of running android 3.0?

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7' started by double, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. double

    double Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    News out of CES is that 3.0 requires dual core processor to work. Is this ballhooey i.e., will some dev port 3.0 on a single core device?
     
  2. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    Hard to say, there is a ton of speculation about what is coming and what the final spec will be. I think dual core is definitely recommended, but don't think it will be an absolute request.
     
  3. Johnboyjr

    Johnboyjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Let's get 2.2 or 2.3 1st
     
  4. hiner

    hiner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    philipines
    Tablet / Device:
    apad
    hi,how can i install games on my apad?some body help me pls.. tnx..

    hi double can you help me?

    hi,how can i install games on my apad?some body help me pls.. tnx..plz
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2011
  5. Johnboyjr

    Johnboyjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Wrong fourm
    this is for s7
     
  6. kid-a429

    kid-a429 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    well i guess over at androidcentral.com someone from the android team has said via tweet that there are no minimum specs for 3.0. now heres the question. when will Huawei stop being quiet with us and tell us if they plan to go to 3.0. my guess is folks that they will be skipping 2.2 and 2.3.

    Morrill: No minimum processor requirements for Honeycomb | Android Central
     
  7. TechRemedy

    TechRemedy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7[rooted] PanDigital Novel[rooted]
    My god...that would be amazing!

    3.0 on the S7 would be everything I could possibly hope for!
     
  8. theprogram1

    theprogram1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hey guys I am new to Android and almost dont know anything about it except for market and some other stuff. Can you just help me with what is rooting, what are the features that you could have but dont have and how to root huwaei Ideos s7 original one with stand and the phone button. Thnx :D
     
  9. jhsband84

    jhsband84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
  10. rokky

    rokky Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    RTP, NC, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Many - mainly Archos 5 IT, several Fujitsu Lifebook "P" models
    I don't think the TI OMAP CPU in the Nook Color is dual core, and they are having fun with Honeycomb already.
     
  11. meowtablet

    meowtablet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    S7 is capable of running 3.0 for sure. There is port of Honeycomb for Dell Streak, which has the same CPU as S7, the other specs are similar as well.
     
  12. rictec

    rictec Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    87
    hi there
    i dont really think the cpu is the problem but the gpu (video) that can be slow
    first we need to get 2.2 and 2.3 up and running then think of 3 or huaway get it for us
    and we need some devs working on it
     
  13. meowtablet

    meowtablet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Snapdragon has integrated GPU, Adreno 200, which means Dell Streak has the same one.

    I don't see why, can you explain your logic? There is no need for 2.2 or 2.3 to be installed to run 3.0, why would you need them?
    The only problem I see here is that there is no man to port Huawei changes to a new kernel, a new kernel is required to run new versions of Android.
    3.0 probably needs a slightly newer version of the kernel, but I don't see why that man wouldn't be able to port Huawei modifications to a newer version (let's say 2.6.36) just as easily as to an older one (2.6.32).
    It's a pity that there are no kernel developers to help us.
     
  14. vferrari

    vferrari Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    NULL
    You're reading into that last comment too literally, obviously you don't need to have 2.2 or 2.3 installed to get to 3.0. What the poster meant was that Huawei has promised us an Android 2.2/2.3 update sometime in March so lets get that promised update first before we start bothering the them for a port to 3.0. As far as a custom 3rd party kernel - well that's a different matter altogether. Check out the development subforum for what's been going on in that vein.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. meowtablet

    meowtablet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Ah, I see. Actually I don't expect Huawei to port 3.0 at all, at least not for S7.
     

Share This Page