Is there a sure way to disable automatic updates yet?

Discussion in 'Nook' started by tomtin, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any help is appreciated
     
  2. darmeen

    darmeen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Flash CWR from ROM Manager

    From everything I have heard, it stops the OTA updates
     
  3. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how do you do that?
     
  4. darmeen

    darmeen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
  5. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I get stuck right in the beginning. When I go to install, it says "installation of download apks is not supported." I have nook color tools box checked. Not really sure what I can do. Am I running into a problem because I have 1.1.0 installed?
     
  6. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I unchecked it, then rebooted, then it worked. Idk...

    New problem. Now I'm stuck in Clockwork recovery. After I proceed to backup, I get "can't mount /system" - then I try to reboot and it just brings me to clockwork recovery! Help please!
     
  7. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    You have to make sure you use "old nook" and get 3.0.0.5 and not 3.0.0.6 of CWR. Once you do that the procedure should be ok.

    -JP
     
  8. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I didn't select old nook damnit. How do I get out of clockwork though? Rebooting keeps bringing me to clockwork.
     
  9. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I found the thread to uninstall. Then I reinstalled. My problem was that I didn't select nook color "old." Maybe that should be included in the tutorial? I'm giving it another shot.
     
  10. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Yep, the CWR issue is brand new and you are one of the first to experience it. The instructions will hopefully be updated soon. You should be fine now. Good luck
     
  11. tomtin

    tomtin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it seems to back up (takes a while) but at the end, it says "cant mount cache". also, in file explorer i only have boot.img, data.img, and system.img. i did it twice now...i think i'm going to give up lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

Share This Page