Just Rooted and having a Re-Start Issue

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by Moody Hammer, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Weak title for lack of a better term. I used auto-nooter for version 1.1 and things went well. An error message appeared after maybe an hour or so and the NC rebooted. When it came back up the Default books, Softkeys, You tube app, gmail and Angry Birds were gone and I'm now prompted through the LogicPD set up again.

    I'm unable to sign into gmail, even after signing into youtube (through the web browser, not the app due to it being missing).

    Plus, the sd card I used to root now only shows a size of 39 meg instead of 8 gigs! And it's 1:35 AM.....

    All help is appreciated!
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  2. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Hello, welcome to forums. Answer me these :

    -What error message you got ?
    -Were you on 1.1 from stock or have you updated it ?


    As you have written the image to SD card, it is normal. You can have it back to 8GB once you format the card after rooting.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Thanks so much for replying!

    - If I remember correctly (I don't), it said something about having to restart...

    - The Nook was 1.0.1 and I updated it via the B&N site prior to rooting

    - I put the card back into the Nook, unmounted and formatted and got the space back. Thanks!

    Just now I switched the keyboard to gingerbread and it appears I have now lost my keyboard also.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  4. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    have you created back up before rooting ? Also have you done completely wipe before installing 1.1 update, if you have rooted 1.0.1 earlier.

    So I assume, you were on stock 1.0.1 > not rooted > updated to 1.1> Auto Nooter 3.

    Now try can go back into CWR while booting, if yes, restore using back up. Then you can try Auto Nooter 3 again.
     
  5. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I did not create a backup.

    I updated to 1.1 before I ever rooted.

    Your assumption is correct.

    Any idea what would happen to make some apps disappear? should I try to go back to stock and start again? I wasn't doing anything tricky when it rebooted and caused these issues.
     
  6. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    First, if you have no issues except apps disappeared, then you might want to try installing those apps. But, thing is with auto nooter 3, all apps should be there. So it is better to go back and try again.

    Also, people with Auto Nooter 3 are facing issues. You might also want to try, rooting 1.0.1 and then installing pre rooted. I suggest you this.
     
  7. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Besides losing the apps, it's like some of the rooting became undone as I've lost the ability to sign into Gmail and the device acts like it's the first time I've turned it on whenever I reboot.
    If I understand correctly, I should get back to stock 1.01 and then root. I can then update to 1.1 after rooting?
     
  8. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    No, after rooting you cannot update directly. Instead you have to put pre rooted 1.1.

    Read this post http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-color-awesome-rooting-ocing-custom-roms.html

    or

    Follow these steps :

    1. Restore to 1.0.1 [either by 8 boot interrupts or by this http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...ll-clockwork-recovery-revert-stock-image.html ]

    2. Root using Auto Nooter for 1.0.1 [ Download Link ]

    3. Then install CWR [ http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...m-manager-nandroid-backup-custom-kernels.html ]

    4. Install Pre rooted 1.1 [ http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/nook-color-technical/7127-rom-nook-color-v1-1-0-pre-rooted.html ]

    If you still have single doubt, feel free to ask before doing anything.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC

    Just to throw something else out there, since your SD card was still using the autonooter image (showing 39megs); when the original error appeared causing the NC to reboot, it actually ran the autonooter again since it was still imaged that way and still in the NC. So you got a hosed up reboot/restore procedure.

    Follow the link AVI gave to revert back to 1.0.1 stock. Then you should root @ 1.0.1 (its a more stable rooting path). Then you should sideload the 'pre-rooted 1.1 update' to get up to date with B&N versions while staying rooted. Once you've done that, make a nand backup which is in the How-to Clockwork thread here.

    Also, make sure you read the steps very carefully! It sounds like this all started because you did not remove the autonooter imaged SD when you were supposed to. Read twice or thrice, and nookies play nice!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I was going to say the same thing, but then read your post faceman...that is exactly what happened.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Thanks guys, I'm about to embark!
     
  12. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Got back to stock and ran auto-nooter 2.12.25.

    I am unable to access the menu in Youtube to sign in to my channel. The softkey program arrow brings up what looks like a menu, but hitting it does nothing.
    <-- figured it out...
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  13. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Open your extras tray and run softkeys...make sure you set it to default...it should work


    No trees were harmed in the sending of this post
     
  14. Moody Hammer

    Moody Hammer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I actually rebooted and set softkeys as default when prompted. Thanks for helping! I'm about to sideload the latest firmware I think.
     
  15. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Yes, now install CWR and pre rooted 1.1
     

Share This Page