[Kernel] 1075MHz Overclock for Dual Camera, Resistive Touch S7

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Development' started by xaueious, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    DO NOT INSTALL ON FROYO

    This is the boot.img containing a kernel that allows overclock up to 1075MHz for the dual camera resistive touch version.

    Tested on Singapore ROM S7V100R001C61B011, BestBuy S7-104.


    Startup at 998MHz. Use setCPU autodetect to clock up.

    Flash with fastboot tools. Install Huawei drivers.

    You enter fastboot mode by holding both volume buttons down, then pressing the power button from power off.

    To test:
    Code:
    adb reboot bootloader
    fastboot boot boot.img
    To permanently flash:
    Code:
    adb reboot bootloader
    fastboot flash boot boot.img
    
    It also has also been undervolted. 576MHz was removed in favor for 460MHz because it is stable at a much lower voltage in my experience.

    Source is razor950's: https://github.com/razor950/huawei_s7_kernel

    Alt DL: http://www.multiupload.com/ZYZ1T5EO41
    MD5sum for boot.img: 36d676abb8599a608c1883f630e9b247

    And changes to the 2 files as attached.

    This also lowers speaker volume significantly.


    I am not a developer, so this is a long way off from what we want.

    I also modifed the ramdisk default.prop so that it would allow rooted adb without having to SuperOneClick it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 4
  2. SikYou

    SikYou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Detroit
    Tablet / Device:
    S7
    Woohoo! Finally a first kernel release. Let the games begin ;)

    Sent from my nonsensikal froyo
     
  3. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    I have no idea how to build more than this. These are very basic edits (just changes to variables, not logic), because I am no developer. I wanted to build this for my own S7 so my speaker volume wasn't out of whack, and to get smoother streaming over CIFS.
     
  4. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
    Thanks xaueious, just flashed it with no issues. Now to see if I can overclock.

    ~Ivy
     
  5. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
    Odd, with my device, I can't seem to overclock at all. Stays stuck at 768MHz

    ~ivy
     
  6. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    SetCPU autodetect works for me. To make sure you flashed it, see if the kernel is actually running.



    it should say something like root@xau-hydra-linux
     
  7. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
    It does appear to of flashed correctly, as abdb is running as root.

    I was using the telstra rom, so maybe something in /system needs to be changed. (in /sys/etc/) perhaps. I will check this when home.

    But the kernel I have running is:

    Linux localhost 2.6.29-s70 #37 PREEMPT Sun Feb 6 18:19:26 EST 2011 armv7l GNU/Linux

    Thanks =)

    ~Ivy
     
  8. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    If you can upload the .config for the Telstra, I can rebuild the kernel based on your config.

    Yep that looks right. I know it works on the Singapore ROM and haven't tested others. Here's a screenshot of where to check:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
    I Could get the config tonight once home, but what I might do is try the "singapore" rom first. Though some people were able to overclock when they had the singapore rom. I've never been able to do so.

    ~Ivy
     
  10. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
  11. pvella

    pvella Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Ivy,
    My machine has same symptom even on singapore ROMs. Maybe it cannot be overclocked.

    Sent from my S7
     
  12. SikYou

    SikYou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Detroit
    Tablet / Device:
    S7
    I suppose it is possible that there are hardware limitations preventing you guys from OC but that doesn't seem right. Maybe you have to build the kernel specifically for your device?
     
  13. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Not sure.

    Here's the boot.img built from my source anyways for testing based on ivy's config.

    Do not flash this, just boot. My config asked me to compile for CDMA, and I chose no. I am not entirely sure if this makes a difference, so it might not even boot. I did compile with no errors though.

    Multiupload
    3bfc9e65b20e6eb732057fdd92bf66c6 boot.img
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  14. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
    Hi Xaueious,

    I'm just trying this now. (I don't know why it asked for cdma as that's not even used for this country).

    It's sitting right now at the IDEOS Logo, but appears to of hung.

    I will check once I'm home to double check as I'm about to finish work.

    ~Ivy
     
  15. babybearsg

    babybearsg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Singapore
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7-105, Nexus One
    Great! Thanks!
    Now I can finally fixed the blasted light sensor levels....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

stable kernel for s7