Launcher Pro & Beautiful Widgets time update issue.

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by Silverwizard, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. Silverwizard

    Silverwizard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Marinha Grande. Portugal.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2 10.1" running Android 2.1
    Hi all,

    I have Launcher Pro on my FT II along with Beautiful Widgets & the look is very pleasing.
    However I have a problem with BW not updating the time.
    Apparently this is a fairly common fault when you have these two apps installed.
    I have tried all the recomendations & even uninstalled & reinstalled,but it still will
    not update the time.
    I have also added it to the ignore list on my taskiller.
    Any ideas anyone?

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  2. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    unfortunately it is also common on ADW, it just seems to be a current limitation of the app.
     
  3. Silverwizard

    Silverwizard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Marinha Grande. Portugal.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2 10.1" running Android 2.1
    Hi Peter,
    I got that impression when I googled this problem.
    I would think that if these are known issues affecting
    paid for apps then surely the developers should address the issue/s?
    Makes sense to me!
     
  4. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    In looking at the discussion on this over at xda-developers they are too busy at the moment finger-pointing for the cause..
     
  5. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    does the same thing happen with fancy widget? the free version? because fancy widget is pretty good looking i think and there is a free version, it doesnt help if you already paid for beautiful widgets but just thought i would ask
     
  6. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Do you have adb setup on your pc? If so, the output from "adb logcat" would be useful for tracking down what's blocking the time update. System logs are a great tool for fixing stuff or at least finding out what's really broken…

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  7. Silverwizard

    Silverwizard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Marinha Grande. Portugal.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2 10.1" running Android 2.1
    Hi Peter
    Instead of finger pointing,wouldn't you think it would make sense to address the issue collectively?
    As the saying goes "Many hands make light work".

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  8. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2 gen 2(FT3)
    Silverwizard, are you rooted? I'm wondering if this isn't an issue with trying to read the system clock. Have you tried another clock widget(any clock widget)
     
  9. Silverwizard

    Silverwizard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Marinha Grande. Portugal.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2 10.1" running Android 2.1
    Hi Mr Smith,
    Yes both of my tablets are rooted,& both have the same problem.
    I have tried other clock apps & the same thing happens.
    I'm therefore convinced that this is a Launcher Pro issue.
    Which in itself is a bummer,cos I really like it.
     
  10. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Download sendlog from the market and then email yourself the relevant log files when the error occurs...

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  11. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    I made the same comment before, but as I have learned dealing with my teenage children...showing them the benefit of working together and getting them to work together are two different animals. lol
     

Share This Page