Linked account apparently NOT required to root.

Discussion in 'Nook' started by Stumblethru, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. Stumblethru

    Stumblethru Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Middle America
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted NookColor, 1.1 OS
    I've been lurking since I bought my NC in Nov and I finally got around to rooting my NC today using autonooter 3.0.0. I forgot about linking to Youtube first but everything seems to work first time thru. I don't know if Youtube will work but that does'nt matter to me since I don't use it anyway. I,ve installed most of the recommended apps and the few I've tried seem to work. I also didn't enter all the info to link to my gmail account, just did a sync gmail as directed by the NC, that worked also.
     
  2. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    Linking your account has nothing to do with 'rooting' since the act of rooting the Nook just allows adb access and installs supersuser so you can do things you couldn't before. All of the linking steps are there to ensure a good association between the device and the Android Market.

    Is your market working as it should?
     
  3. Stumblethru

    Stumblethru Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Middle America
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted NookColor, 1.1 OS
    I brought up the linked account because all of the instructions for rooting require a linked account.
    So far it is. I installed about a dozen apps.
     
  4. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    That's true, but I also think that with 1.10 and using autonooter 3.0, it included the market whereas earlier methods did not. I will look into that and see.

    Update:
    I'm not sure what's different about it. Maybe they didn't know something was different. I will play with this later when I get into testing rooting methods. It's on my to-check list!
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011
  5. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I don't think auto booted 3.0has new market...it was the pre-root 1.1rom that had new market


    No trees were harmed in the sending of this message; however, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
     

Share This Page