Looking for buying advice

cmhdiamond

Oct 19, 2010
Hi all.
I joined the forum so I could learn more about Android tablets. I have friends that have iPads, and I rather like them, but I don't like the price, or the fact that they don't support flash. So I am looking at purchasing an Android tablet sometime in the not-too-distant future. Maybe around Christmas time. I figure there may be some good deals out there around the holidays.
Now let me just say that I'm not a novice user. I've been in IT for 20 years now, having spent 2 years as a service tech, 3 years as a programmer/network admin, and the last 15 as primarily a programmer, with the occasional database admin thrown in when needed for my system design.
So anyway, I have a few questions about the tablets for those of you who are more intimately familiar with them.
First, since I want the ability to run flash, I'm assuming that I will need a tablet that at least will support 2.2, if not already installed. Any thoughts on that front?
Next, I want to know the opinions (and yes, I know I'm really opening it up here) about whether I should go ahead and buy this year, or wait until 3.0 (gingerbread) is available early next year?
Also, what are your thoughts on resistive vs capacitive touch screens. I know the capacitive ones are the only ones that support multi-touch, which I think would be cool, but do I really need that? Can you list some specific models that I may consider?
What about the Google app market? I know many mfrs. models don't meet Google's standards, so they aren't allowed to put the market on their tablets. So is that a big deal? Can I still get the apps and side-load from my laptop? Are there hacks available to install the market on a non-authorized app? Is that dangerous? i.e. Would it void the warranty?