Low end tablets?

immlkids

Jan 3, 2012
I am used to my Droid 2...its ease of use, speed, etc. but am selling it because of data plan I did not use much. I'm ready to move to tablet. What I basically want is a bigger Droid 2. I would like to read books (kindle), use internet, download apps (android marketplace), and do some occasional music listening, movie watching.
I have studied like a geek and am overwhelmed by the amount of tablets out there. While I am very impressed by several I want to reduce up front cost.
Here is my question:
If I buy a LOW END BRAND with:
high rez screen
fast processor
expandable memory....
WILL IT FUNCTION AS A HIGH END MACHINE IF I ROOT IT?

Please don't get too techy with your answer I'm a rookie.
I have considered Coby, viewsonic, lenova, nook tablet, kindle fire
Thanks so much!
Kevin

TheDroid13

Aug 14, 2011
I really am convinced that the Kindle Fire and Nook Tablet are the best out there right now for the cost to performance ratio. The Fire is an excellent tablet, with a great community, but if you are dead set on expandable storage, then the Nook is definitely the one for you. Good luck and happy new year!:)

immlkids

Jan 3, 2012
Thanks for advice. After spending a while on this site... I feel foolish for not considering brands like zenithink or ainol. I didn't know they existed. Then......after spending sufficient time studying sites that sell them I'm sceptical. Should I be? China grabber? Gadget Greats?

G37

Jan 3, 2012
I'd be careful for those chinese brands we don't often hear of. I say this because they just take hardware and slap software on it and call it a finished product. Part of the problem with the Android OS is that its not always compatible with the hardware and you're more prone to failure as more advanced apps come out that don't correspond nicely to the hardware you're using.