M70003 just stopped working

Discussion in 'WonderMedia WM8505 Tablets' started by mogsy52, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. mogsy52

    mogsy52 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Had a M70003 7" tablet today at about 1pm and used it for just over an hour then all of a sudden the screen went a bit fuzzy and it shut down and now will not switch back on at all.
    It seems to be charging ok as there is heat at the back off the tablet where the charger is plugged in (when the charger is on)
    As far as I know it's a VIA8505 chip the only info I had from the system itself before it died is: model number: generic
    firmware version: 1.6
    kernel version: 2.6.29-00236-g4f8dbbb-dirty
    build number: 1.7.2
    Does anyone know if this is a fault that is easily fixed or is it just a case of return to sender?
    Thanks
     
  2. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    Let it cool down then try it again.
     
  3. spb37

    spb37 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Hard to say. But you need to find and try the reset button several times
     
  4. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    I would ask the seller now and then that way if it doesnt turn back on there will already be conversation and the return process can happen quicker
     
  5. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    Some of these devices the reset is located under SD storage under settings to do a fully factory reset. If you can get into that settings once the unit has cooled down.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  6. mogsy52

    mogsy52 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Well it has been off for over 3 hours now and still won't come back on. I have had it on charge all this time though so it is still warm. Will unplug it now and try later again.
    I have spoken to the seller and told him of the problem and that I will keep trying it tonight but if it is still like this in the morning then he is having it back. He seems ok at the moment (even though his first comment to me was YOU NEED TO CHARGE IT!! lol)
    I can't find any reset button on it anywhere but there is a small hole at the top of the unit near the volume and power buttons and another near the dc input port. One of these is probably the mic but don't know if the other is possibly a reset inside? Will give it a little poke now
     
  7. mogsy52

    mogsy52 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Ok the small hole near the power input must be the reset button, I can feel it click when I push a paperclip in. Tried that but no luck.Will leave it cool for a couple of hours then try again.
    Thanks guys
     
  8. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    Press reset in (hold) Then turn on the power again. Still no dice? (Very hot on the back) then let it cool off.
     
  9. mogsy52

    mogsy52 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    well I tried the reset a good few times and then I just left it alone and all of a sudden it has just made a noise and turned itself back on.
    I have got a new rom image to flash to it but it's all new to me and as I have just had this problem I don't know if it will make it better or worse?
     
  10. spb37

    spb37 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Before you flash a rom see if the seller is willing to take it back. A new unit should not get warn and crash. Maybe it is hardware, maybe it is software but in any event you would be totally justified not to be satisfied. Seller probably won't take it back but it is worth a try. If seller is nice we could help you research getting a better rockchip unit probably at the same price you paid.
     
  11. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    So it's back on then and you can see your desktop and get on the internet. I would hold off with flashing the unit. If this issue happens again you need to contact the seller for exchange.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

hard reset m70003

,

how to reboot the m70003 tablet