Maps application

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by rakstr, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. rakstr

    rakstr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    Had to exchange my VTAB and now I'm having problems using the Maps application. Either partially paints the map or fails to paint at all. Anyone else having issues?
     
  2. thearches

    thearches Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    20740
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio tablet
    I don't have an answer to your problem but maybe mine is related.

    After several days of seeming to work correctly, the Maps app and the related Navigation app now freeze every time I enable the satellite layer. The apps stay frozen even after I disable the satellite layer (it lets me do that). I have to do a forced close or reboot to get them to work again. If I forget to disable satellite before closing or rebooting, the apps come up frozen (g=blank screen) the next time I run them.

    I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the Maps update to no avail.
     
  3. FanNo301

    FanNo301 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Middle West
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    Getting something in Google Earth. Vizio says it's the software, Google says it's the hardware! Same script, different players . . ?

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    I just experimented with the Maps and Latitude applications. Went into Maps. Turned on the satellite layer. All was well. Shrunk and panned all the way over to the west coast, where I know some friends are, then switched to Latitude. It did appear to seize-up painting the map. Turned off the sat. layer. Remained seized. Exited and re-entered Latitude. It was okay. Re-enabled the sat. layer. It was okay. Still in Latitude: Panned back over to the midwest, where I am. No problem. Turned the sat. layer off.

    So, for me, on my tab, it seems to be a bit wonky, but not entirely b0rk3d.

    Jim
     
  5. thearches

    thearches Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    20740
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio tablet
    Thanks. When you say "exited and re-entered Latitude" did you just go out to Home and back in, or did you do a forced close. I always have to turn off the satellite layer and then do a forced close to get any functionality.
     
  6. thearches

    thearches Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    20740
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio tablet
    I exchanged my VTab for a new one. Maps and Navigation have the same problem. As soon as you check the satellite layer, they freeze and only work again after turning off the satellite layer and doing a forced stop.

    While I can't rule out that this is connected with the system update (which the VTab did immediately after initial setup), that does rule out that this is due to conflict with apps I downloaded, since I haven't downloaded any.
     
  7. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    Yes. No forced close needed.

    Jim
     
  8. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    Strange. I played with both Maps and Latitude, moving between the two several times and moving back and forth between the midwest and the west coast. Had sat. lock up on me just once. Didn't even have to leave the app. Just turned off the sat. layer and turned it back on.

    I have the latest of everything offerered for my VTAB.

    Jim
     
  9. dudleydocker

    dudleydocker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB
    I just downloaded the new Maps update (5.12.0) and it seems to have completely resolved the freezing/lockup problems that I have always had with this app. I am now a happy mapper! :) Fix the SD card and I will be a happy camper....................:mad:
    dd
     
  10. Wgaich

    Wgaich Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Maryland
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet
    Hey Dudleydocker, "Stancomb Wills" here.
     
  11. dudleydocker

    dudleydocker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB
    BINGO!

    I've used that handle for 5 or 6 years and nobody ever made the connection until now.

    I'm sure you can understand the importance of having the Google maps app functioning..... :)

    dd
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  12. gby

    gby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Boston area
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    I also have never been able to get Satellite, terrain, or other advanced function of Google Maps to work on my VTAB1008. I just went to Market, My Apps, Google Maps, hit update to get 5.12.0 and now everything works. So, either Vizio did not pre-install Google Maps correctly or this update fixes a problem in the Google Maps app.

    gby
     
  13. JimO

    JimO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tab
     

Share This Page