MID7012 - how to copy files to it?

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by yuppicide, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. yuppicide

    yuppicide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I want to follow the post to install Android marketplace, but how do I get files over to it? It doesn't show up in My Computer in Windows XP.
     
  2. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Do you see the USB symbol and the Android bug in the notificatio bar when connecting the tablet to the computer using the supplied USB cable? If yes, open the notification bar, tap on the USB connect and turn on storage mode. If you don't see it, something is wrong or you have to go to Settings -> Advanced settings an put USB in "device mode". After doing this you should see your tablet like you do when you use a thumb drive.
     
  3. yuppicide

    yuppicide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    When I plug it into Windows it says "Found new hardware MID" but can't find a driver. So, it never shows up in My Computer.
     
  4. yuppicide

    yuppicide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Since this post I've downloaded Android SDK. I've downloaded the USB drivers. I point it to the USB folder and it says:

    The file "WinUSBCoInstaller.dll" on Android WinUsb installation disk is needed.
     
  5. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    I don't think you need drivers to mount tablet's storage on computer, these drivers are for debugging (adb) AFAIK.

    Did you tablet come with a manual? It should explain how to do it...
     
  6. yuppicide

    yuppicide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I don't believe it had a manual. I do see one on their website. It says something about hitting a mount button I've never seen. When I plug it in to my computer, Windows is looking for drivers for "MID".

    I'll try again when I get home from work.
     
  7. bjy20716

    bjy20716 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid 1
    Mine worked fine in Windows 7. All you do is plug in the tablet and on the tablet itself you have to click turn on USB storage. It maybe in the pull down menu.
     
  8. ResidentEvil

    ResidentEvil Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Sunny Tampa Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Kyros 7012
    Did you get it to work ?
     
  9. yuppicide

    yuppicide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Roughly 4 more hours at work and I'll let you know.
     
  10. Pamster

    Pamster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Florida US
    Tablet / Device:
    Dell 11z (1121)
    Hope it works! *crosses fingers*
     
  11. yuppicide

    yuppicide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Got it to work! I had the unit on when plugging it into the computer. Unit needs to be off. Plug in then power on. Then asks to turn on USB Storage.

    Thanks a bunch guys!
     
  12. Pamster

    Pamster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Florida US
    Tablet / Device:
    Dell 11z (1121)
    That's great you got it working, glad to hear that yuppicide, I saw your other thread but I don't have any advice for you on that, it shouldn't be long before someone with mroe knowledge can reply to your other thread, though if you ran a search of "market on the 7012 without rooting" I am sure a few good resource threads would come up for you. :)
     

Share This Page