MID7024 All you need to know

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 2' started by Pablocr, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. rain

    rain Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    ca
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kryos MID7024
    do you have a seven inch, eight inch, or ten inch screen ? ? is it resistive or capacitive ? ?

    when the above instructions worked for me ( and other people ) my coby kyros MID7024 was still running the original firmware from the factory. and i had purchased it off amazon at income tax time - six months ago. so maybe you have a different model -or- a newer firmware version ? ? ?

    if you are positive you have tried them all . . . my suggestion ( and PLEASE don't brick your tablet by not exactly following the instruction provided... and if there is ANY confusion or ambiguity - - - ask the senior guys for clarification ) is to install the improved firmware that flxrms cooked up . . .
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-custom-roms-thread-add-your-custom-roms.html

    he is at V2 so ask him when his version three is coming out ? ? ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  2. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    @katish: what do you want to do? Can you use "su" via abd or Termunal Emulator? Superuser.apk pop up when you do? If yes, your tablet is rooted. If not, try SuperOneClick (it works with Froyo at least, please see other threads about it).

    Actually, you don't neet rooting for many things, like installing Market for example.

    Another thing: it seems that in Kyros there is no "/system" mount, at least there isn't in my MID1024. If I try to remount /system it gives me an error, but works with the root directory ("/").
     
  3. katish

    katish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Cobe Kyros MID8024
    @lfom: for now all I want is to get 3G.. I haven't tried anything fancy just these apps .. zroot to provide root access and root explorer to edit the necessary file.. z4root seems to have done its job alright, but I still haven't found a way to edit the ini.smdkv210.rc file to enable 3G, which is what I wanted root explorer for. the version of root explorer I got that worked didn't have an edit text option. then I got another version (newer I guess) that doesn't obtain root access.. now I'm stuck.

    I'm guessing lack of root access is also the reason why arctools couldn't create a temporary directory for instalation as well?

    @rain: Mine is a MID8024 model with android 2.2 and kernel 2.6.32.9.. the tablet is for my mom, so I want to keep it as clean and as simple as possible, but 3G is a necessity! I want to exhaust my possibilities using boxed apps before going on terminal mode, and changing the rom seems like a last resort move..so if you guys have other suggestions I'm all for it!

    I don't quit easily! :)

    thanks for your thoughts and lemme know if you need more info.
     
  4. jetmechal

    jetmechal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Ontario,Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7024
    Hey Just recently bought this tablet (Coby MID7024-4G).

    Tried really hard to find a way to get Android market to work as I already had a Google account and wasn't really happy with just the
    APPSlib way of finding APPS or trying to find downloadable APK file to install from SD (like Adobe flash).

    This may sound incredible but I did not root my tablet!

    I just downloaded the zip file identified from "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BrWSC2uiAg&feature=related" into my computer
    and from there unzipped the " GoogleServiceFramework.apk , OneTimeInitializer.apk , SetupWizard.pak and Vending.apk"
    directly into the SD card installed into my usb cable attached Tablet.
    Carried out the installs with the APK install as per the video and reset my coby before trying to open MARKET .
    After the reset I selected the default action as per the video and made sure I had a working wifi connection before starting up Market!
    The registration went as expected and when I checked my account from my PC's web browser my account showed my tablet as aT-Mobile device.

    Happy to say I can now download apps from MARKET.

    Hope you all find the same results.........And comment if it was a go or nogo for you!
     
  5. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    You don't need root for editing smdkv210.rc (at last not on my MID1024 also). Simply use ES File Explorer.

    Forget about ArcTools, it doesn't work and won't bring anything beyond you get with a simple Market install.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. katish

    katish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Cobe Kyros MID8024
    Guys, I managed to edit the damn file and got 3G enabled.. thanks! But my usb modem isn't on the list - it's a Huawei E1553.. I'm trying to find drivers for it?! I'm not sure what to do from here...
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  7. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Try one of the other Huawei models, and if it still doesn't work search for a firmware update for your modem. If it's still a no go, I'm afraid you will need another modem...
     
  8. flxrms

    flxrms Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Manila
    Tablet / Device:
    epad
    even if your modem is not on the list it will still work...
     
  9. katish

    katish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Cobe Kyros MID8024
    Guys, thank you so much for your patience and assistance... I am supposed to update the firmware on my modem, don't wanna do that because it's a corporate one.. So I'll just have mom get a new one that's compatible. Now To be done all I need is to get market so I can get her some cool lil stuff toi play with :)

    Am I a good daughter or what?! loool
     
  10. flxrms

    flxrms Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Manila
    Tablet / Device:
    epad
    Generic Android 2.3 for Kyros 7024 and 8024

    Base on: Genesis 2.2.1 by Prox32

    Changes:
    -Added kernel modules, touchscreen calibration app, and other files from ALLDRO2 firmware (thanks to JMV_10 for finding this rom)
    -Added kernel (zImage, zImage.debug) from ALLDRO2 firmware (thanks to JMV_10 for finding this rom)
    -Modified utscript.sh (Fonix and steeve)
    -mbr for 4gb,8gb and 16gb
    -manually choose the uboot and buildprop for your tablet (7024/8024)

    Instructions on how to install just read the Folder Name.

    By Default you can flash this with your 7024 with overclock cpu...

    https://rapidshare.com/files/2498181008/CFW-Android2.3-7024-8024.rar

    Credits: prox32 and all involved in his genesis ROM

    Special thanks:
    jmv_10
    steeve
    Other members of the Android Tablets forum

    *Special thanks to AllDro2 for providing the Gingerbread firmware!!!
    ***
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
    • Like Like x 4
  11. marilia

    marilia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Salvador, BA, Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    Hi thank you very much!! It installed perfectly on my tablet...! Now I am installing back all my apps I backuped with titanium backup... Can I erase the files that I copied to the extsd to install the android 2.3, so I can have more space available on my extsd card? or are they necessary??
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  12. flxrms

    flxrms Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Manila
    Tablet / Device:
    epad
    Yes you can delete it.

    Sent from my COBY KYROS 7024 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  13. juanjesus0

    juanjesus0 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    any suggestions for MID8025?
     
  14. flxrms

    flxrms Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Manila
    Tablet / Device:
    epad
    well can you tell us if your tablet is really 8025 or 8125?

    because 8125 uses Telechip Cpu while 8024(8025) use Samsung Cpu
     
  15. juanjesus0

    juanjesus0 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    It is 8025. Do you think I can make the same?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

coby kyros mid7024 accounts and sync

,
coby mid7024
,
download appstore for android tablet that has a model of mid7024 and is a 2
,
how to download google play on my coby kyros tablet mid7024
,
how to install apps on coby tablet mid 7024
,
how to root mid7024 without pc
,
how to update kyros tablet model mid7024
,
kyros mid7024
,
mid7024
,
what if i dont have a device administrators on my coby kyros 7024 tablet