MID710A how to find MAC address?

Discussion in 'Samsung Based' started by valkrider, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. valkrider
    Offline

    valkrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    I have just bought a MID 710A tablet with a Samsung S5PC100 processor.

    Full details
    Model MID 710A
    Firmware 2.1
    Kernal 2.6.29 MID710A #840
    Build MID710A 1.0.20101104

    I need to know the MAC address to get onto my wireless network so that I can enter it into the router. However, When I select MAC address details under the information settings it says no mac address found.

    Any suggestions?

    Other than that it seems a pretty speedy tablet.

    -------------------------------

    Doh what a dummy I forgot to turn the wireless on first :eek: I have now added the mac address to my router but I still can't connect. How do you set up ip address and dns settings on one of these?
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
  2. xaueious
    Offline

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    This sounds like a new device. Normally it should automatically connect to a wireless network after entering your settings from the wifi settings screen that would look like this:
    [​IMG] (google imaged this one)

    I would like to know more about what you got actually.

    Anyways normally when you choose the network, a prompt comes up asking you to enter the network password (if your wifi network requires it)
  3. hoben02
    Offline

    hoben02 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    usa
    Tablet / Device:
    epad zenithink zt-180
    check your firewall and check the security configuration maybe "wep" or "wpa2" on your router
  4. valkrider
    Offline

    valkrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    Thanks guys for the suggestions. My router is secured by allowing only certain MAC addresses to connect rather than WEP or WPA. I ended up turning MAC address locking off and now can connect fine. Not ideal and not what I want but it will have to do for now.

    As to what I got I bought one of these from eBay in the UK 7" ePad Android 2.1 SAMSUNG 1Ghz CPU HDMI 3D Game UK 1y on eBay (end time 19-Dec-10 17:27:37 GMT)

    According to the Android info programme

    CPU ABI: armeabi-v7a
    Manufacturere: urbetter
    Device: utc100
    ID: ERD79
    Model: MID710A
    Product: utc100

    It has a camera and sensor. HDMI out. 9v 2A power supply. Silver plastic back to the case with a manufactureres Sticker saying Digitronic and a bar code MID710A2079. It with Came with Market and Skype pre-installed and an odd programme called Youku which seems to be a Chinese YouTube.

    I have tried Angry Birds on it but it just hung. Still experimenting with it at the moment.
  5. steveb625
    Offline

    steveb625 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    valkrider,
    Now that you have your tab connected to your wifi you could log on to the router setup page and view the attached devices window to get the MAC address. Then you could turn MAC filtering back on.

    Just in China a couple of weeks ago and there was something on the news about Youku. I think they announced their IPO.
  6. vrindamishra
    Offline

    vrindamishra Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S I9000
    Hi all
    I'm using samsung galaxy si9000
    I want to know whether updating my android version from 2.1 to 2.3 directly is safe or not? If anyone has already updated their version and is facing problems please let me know

    Sent from my GT-I9000 using Android Tablet Forum App
  7. sony_gnw
    Offline

    sony_gnw Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To look up MAC address:
    Setting> Wireless & Network> Wifi Setting. Press menu, press advanced, you will see MAC address there.

    Sent from my MID_Serails using Android Tablet Forum

Share This Page