MKV playing

Discussion in 'Coby Tablet Apps and Games' started by absurd, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. absurd

    absurd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Most of my videos are mkv's and i would like to watch them on my coby.
    Because of 4 gb limit i am splitting them with a program name "mkvmerge" then put into sd card but cant get to watch them even after tried some different players.
    Anyone with a solution?
     
  2. popeye1128

    popeye1128 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID 7015
    Have you tried KMPlayer? It works with most everything I throw at it but haven't tried mkv. Worth a shot.
     
  3. jrodbbrook

    jrodbbrook Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    Rock Player works with MKV's also.
     
  4. popeye1128

    popeye1128 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID 7015
    Suddenly KMPlayer is nowhere to be found.
     
  5. absurd

    absurd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    i couldnt try kmplayer but rock player is no good.
     
  6. kplasters

    kplasters Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    mVideoPlayer works great for me.
     
  7. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    The problem is capability to adjust to large size MKVs. Archos makes a splitter that will split large Vids into 4Gb blocks. I have discovered it will work on Non-Archos players. But otherwise, I would suggest Transcoding with Handbrake or similar to a visual size that is smaller but do not lose any visual effect. Remember The Tablet screen is NOT a 50in TV screen. So you can render down and still get great results.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. popeye1128

    popeye1128 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID 7015
    gurgle is right. You should convert those large files to something smaller. I like ViDrop, it is a simple command line program with a UI that works well and is fast. Then you can get more videos on the same amount of card space. I can get a 45 minute HDTV show down to 200mb and still looks/sounds good. Another player that works well is Video Player by jeff Hamilton.
     
  9. gswilkent

    gswilkent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Just guessing but is it a fat file system issue? Have you tried formatting your SD card to ntsf? Not sure if android supports ntsf but 4gig is the file size limit of fat 32 and your card is likely fat.

    Sent from my coby using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  10. absurd

    absurd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Android doesn't support ntfs. If formatted it doesn't even see the sd card. Unfortunately...
     
  11. gswilkent

    gswilkent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    What about if you formated it ext3 ? Still guessing as I'm new to android but its basically just linux so I would think it would recognize that. A problem would be that a windows machine wouldn't recognize it, but fine if your running Linux.
     
  12. absurd

    absurd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Don't know about ext3 but i'm a W7 user i dont have that option.
     
  13. gswilkent

    gswilkent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    You can use something like this
    Ext2 IFS For Windows
    to access an ext3 disk from w7. So you could make it work if Android will recognize ext3
     
  14. gswilkent

    gswilkent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL

Share This Page