Moving Apps to SD Card

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by xkchief, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. xkchief
    Offline

    xkchief Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is a very simple way to move your downloaded Apps to Sd Card.............1-Go to setting 2-Click on Applications 3-Select Manage Applications 4- Scroll to App you want to transfer to Sd Card 5=Select move to SD..........Not all Apps can be move but the ones you downloaded can [ Is their anyway to move any (the other preloaded) Apps to SD Card?? } Also You Tube runs much better after doing this!
  2. Conspirator
    Offline

    Conspirator Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB1008
    If you are running Gingerbread, you are not actually moving apps to SD card, you are only moving them from the internal storage to another partition on the internal drive.

    First upgrade to Honeycomb, it runs much faster unless you are one who has problem. If you are running Honeycomb, you go to Settings > Apps and you can set the Default Storage location to SD card from Internal Storage. Most of your apps will then transfer over to your SD card without having to go through each on individually. As a side effect you will have two different loads when you start up your tablet. The first is the internal drive loading and then about 30 seconds later the SD card will load.
    • Like Like x 4
  3. jflora
    Offline

    jflora Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VIA VTAB1008
    Ok, here's a nifty problem. I changed the settings to make the Default Storage location my external SD Card. After doing this my Google Play Store app began malfunctioning. When I run it all I get is a message that says "No Connection" and a button that says "Retry". Any suggestions on how to fix this issue without changing my settings back?
  4. Conspirator
    Offline

    Conspirator Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB1008
    That should have nothing to do with moving to your SD card. That is an internet connection issue. Try turning off wifi then turning back on, should reset your connection and connect. Works for me.
  5. VjohnV
    Offline

    VjohnV Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab
    Are there any issues when running apps from the SD card? Do they run slower? I didn't think the Android Honeycomb OS would allow apps to run off SD card. (can with Ice Cream Sandwich)
  6. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Not all apps will run from SD card the ones that do shouldn't have any issues though. Neither HC or ICS supports apps on the SD card by default. This is a customization Vizio has made (and a good one).
    • Like Like x 2
  7. VjohnV
    Offline

    VjohnV Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab
    I don't see a the 'move to SD card' when I go to Settings => Applications => Manage Apps. Some apps have 'move to onboard memory. Do I need to unmount then mount my SD card again to get that option?
  8. Conspirator
    Offline

    Conspirator Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB1008
    It sounds like they are already on the SD card, "Move to Onboard" is what shows up when they are on the SD card. Does your default app location show as SD card?
  9. Conspirator
    Offline

    Conspirator Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB1008
    Try restarting your tablet. Also try deleting your wifi connection and re- set it up.
  10. dabamajo
    Offline

    dabamajo Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    How do you change the default storage setting?
  11. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    921
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    You indicate you have a Samsung Tab and this is the Vizio section of the forum so the short answer is that by default, you can't. Not without rooting and modifying system files.
  12. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Also did you even bother to read the first post in the thread?
  13. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    921
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    I guess I messed up somewhere. ;)
  14. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Oops, that wasn't meant for you but to add on to what you said for dabamajo. Why come to a thread and ask a question about the very thing the first post is about? Dabamajo clearly seems confused, I don't need to make you confused also!
    • Like Like x 2
  15. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    921
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    But you were ultimately very successful. ;);)
  16. walkman1943
    Offline

    walkman1943 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N Ireland
    Tablet / Device:
    Sasmsung Galaxy 7
    Hi Folks New to Android and new to the forum. What is the way to use my SD card on my Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7. keeping in mind that I use version 4.0.4 (presumably ICS) on the tab. Thanks for any help you can offer to a newbie. Gerald
  17. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    921
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    Welcome to the forum
    Most people use the SD card for storing media, like music, movies and docs. It saves space on your internal memory but not much more.

Share This Page