My pdf-files take ages to load when reading them / scrolling down. What can I do?

planetmillion

Sep 5, 2012
Hi,

I have an ACER Iconia a500 tab, and have some pdf e-books. Since I'm a student, I read some "heavy" books (large files), and the problem is, that it takes me up to a minute to open the first page, and sometimes even a few minutes to view the next page(s) when scrolling down. It's annoying and my studying takes a lot more time.

I use EzPDF-reader, and "docs to go", both full versions, I think docs to go is slightly better, but still not good enough.

Anyone knows how to fix this issue? I even remember having moments of "freezing" of a pdf-file, and had to restart my tablet.

Maybe you can suggest a light pdf-reader, which doesn't use much memory space, so I can easily read the "heavy" books?

I hope someone can help...

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
You do not say how big (Megabytes), How long (Seconds, minutes, hours?),pages or types of PDFs. Some PDFs are set up with mixed Graphics and cut/paste text or just images of each page.
Details will help identify if any suggestion is possible. There are too many variables from your question.

planetmillion

Sep 5, 2012
OK. the file size is 128 MB, the book has many images, but in my friend's Ipad and on my PC (I have a laptop and a stationary PC), it opens immediately, without problems.

It depends on the page how long it takes to load: Some pages load within 5-10 seconds (still too long), and some even never want to load properly. And as I said, it can "freeze", and sometimes "unfreeze" after x-amount of seconds/minutes, or I have to restart my tablet.

The book has about 1200 pages, and I only use one pdf file at a time.

If you need more information, just tell me.

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010