Need Help w/ Rooting Kyros 7015

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by aolson, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. aolson

    aolson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY Kyros 7015
    I have seen the instructions on the sticky, but have a few questions:
    My laptop does NOT have a slot for a SD Card, can I still proform the root and how? Do I have to install the Windows SW & ADB drivers, Clockworkmod Recovery too if all I want is the Android Market? Sorry, but not very tech savy.
     
  2. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Yes, clockwork is needed to get the market. The sdk gives you access to adb. The adb shell gives you root access by default on the kyros.

    If you follow the instructions in the sticky, you'll be fine.
     
  3. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    This is what i followed to root my coby kyros. i cant get to you tube from work,
    so go to you tube and search for "coby kyros android tablet mid7015 step by step" by phase3d it was extreamly simple and done within 15 minutes
    this video shows yuo how to root the kyros without using a PC all done directly on the device. :)
     
  4. aolson

    aolson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY Kyros 7015
    Thank you hdectablet!
     
  5. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    no prob let me know how it goes!
     
  6. aolson

    aolson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY Kyros 7015
    Will I lose all my installed apps and data once root?
     
  7. hdectablet

    hdectablet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    i think if you have already done the update from coby then no. if you havent run the update from coby then yes becasue in the first step you have to put the device back to factory settings and then aply the update.
     
  8. Cutty1

    Cutty1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    7" mid Tablet (Dreambook)
  9. njd20

    njd20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Milton
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7015
    I just used the above link and my Kyros works great, You have to root the unit you are missing so much.
     

Share This Page