Netflix app streaming?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by drozas, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. drozas

    drozas Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    san diego
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a 500, OG Droid
    Anyone try the Netflix update? Does it stream?

    Sent from my A500
     
  2. johnblaze322

    johnblaze322 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    no but it makes it incompatable w/ acer a500 cant even install the update
     
  3. rontopia

    rontopia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    tucson
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer a500
    i havent got it to work-
     
  4. jmack

    jmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    streaming works for me now :) Had to install via APK and not the market
     
  5. sherzoy67

    sherzoy67 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    north east
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Can you please send us the link for APK where you downloaded. Thanks :D
     
  6. johnblaze322

    johnblaze322 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    yes a link would be great
     
  7. taichimaster

    taichimaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    acer tab a500
    Did some internet searching and the I'm seeing some strange answers for the A500.

    A couple of websites have said 'Xoom 100% working' but "some" A500s.

    Wonder why it's SOME and not all?

    Ken
     
  8. jmack

    jmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
  9. wolfganggold

    wolfganggold Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    WOW! It's working!!!
    It's a bit of a scary procedure but if you're OK with command line stuff it's not too bad.
    First, I had to be rooted. Second, I have Root Explorer, which is a paid app, but worth it if you're rooted. This allows you to delete the file libnvomx.so (AFTER YOU'VE BACKED IT UP!!!!) so you can copy the new one.
    Then I followed this forum thread, particularly the post by vereynn, post #26.
    [Q] Netflix on Acer Iconia Tab A500 - Page 3 - xda-developers

    After rebooting, it works great!

    The state of my device:
    Rooted 3.1 (with iconiaroot-1.3.apk)
    Build number: Acer_A500_4.010.10_COM_GEN2
    Kernel 2.6.36.3

    Editing to say: yes, I DID need the patch for this to work but only the file mentioned in the other forum post.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
  10. jmack

    jmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    this is weird. I never had to run the patch. Just uninstalled previous version, install new version, and voila!
     
  11. Nate Rules

    Nate Rules Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Mesa AZ
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I just used the patch and it works great. I tried the new Apk first and it didn't work but the patch was quick and easy.
     
  12. gzigoris

    gzigoris Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Middle Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
  13. drozas

    drozas Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    san diego
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a 500, OG Droid
    Doesn't work for me. Unrooted 3.1.

    Sent from my A500
     
  14. KungFooGrip

    KungFooGrip Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    Is this something you have to be rooted for? I have the app working, but when I try to stream I get the "cannot reach netflix" error message.

    Unrooted 3.1
     
  15. strider_mt2k

    strider_mt2k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I have it working on mine! AWESOME

    Yes you need to be rooted to replace a file.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

netflix running acer a 500