Netflix Chipmunks fix?

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by RaVenJ, Jun 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Anyone know of a fix that works? I've tried to follow the threads over at XDA, but those people have serious ADD...
     
  2. beastman

    beastman Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    gtab
    Editing /system/build.prop fixed it for me. I changed manufacture to HTC Vision.

    Sent from my GTablet using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    k, I'll give it a shot.. If that don't fix it, I'm ditching CM7100 and going back to what worked perfectly before. Thanks =)
     
  4. beastman

    beastman Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    gtab
    I running nightly or stable!? I'm running nightly on my gtablet. On my evo currently.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Currently it's nightly 100. Previously, it was something like 85. I've still got it on my booter card, so I can go back to what worked well before.
     
  6. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Didn't work, went back to cm770, still don't work. Hating my NC right about now.
     
  7. beastman

    beastman Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    gtab
    Search xda and download a version from them

    Sent from my GTablet using Android Tablet Forum
     
  8. bike2002

    bike2002 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    This is a known problem and solutions are available.
    All of these solutions are actually doing one thing: that is to modify the build.prop file.

    If you are running CM7 off emmc, you can download the nooknetflixfixer apk from here:

    Nook Netflix Fixer - xda-developers

    If you are running CM7 off microSD, then you can either use the mod from Chisleu:

    [CM7 MOD]Chisleu's CM7 Mod (6/10 for n98) - xda-developers

    or use the mod from Projektdotnet:

    [CM7 MOD]Projekt Mod aka Chipmunk Fix - xda-developers

    Good luck.
     
  9. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I've downloaded everything I can find over at XDA and either they say "you must upgrade" and then take me to the market and tell me the new version can't be found, or they run and sound like chipmunks. I even found one that told me it couldn't connect to the Netflix servers.

    I've done the build.prop modification by hand already and had no luck with it.

    I even went so far as to call Netflix and was told that due to the Nook Color being an unauthorized device, the chipmunking was being done intentionally. Frankly, I'm about ready to drop Netflix and wash my hands of it.
     
  10. bike2002

    bike2002 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Please wait.
    Now assuming that you have modified the file correctly, and have double checked that the file has been modified, then what you need is a GOOD Netflix client, because even Netflix clients are not born equal (at least to nook color).

    Please check if you are using this Netflix client:

    com.netflix.mediaclient-2.apk
     
  11. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Yeap, that's the one that keeps telling me it can't find the servers when I know full well, it can. I know this because just moments earlier I'm watching the Crow at chipmunk speed. Then I install that one, it can't find the server. Then I install one of the others and I'm back to chipmunk speed. So it's not a connection problem.
     
  12. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Sounds like you are dealing with the trials of an unsupported device and they have said as much. It is weird because some have the chipmunk issue and some do not. Granted I'm on plian CM7 but Netflix has worked from the get go straight from Market with no issues. Do you also have the latest Flash? Not sure if that makes a difference.

    JP
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. bike2002

    bike2002 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
  14. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I checked and my Flash was indeed outdated. I can't hit Netflix from here at work, but I'll try it when I get home.
     
  15. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I fired up the hotspot on my phone so I could check it.. It's now working. Must have been my Flash version. Weird. Ohwell, thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cuipmlncxda