Netflix on S7

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Technical' started by mochas7, May 13, 2011.

  1. mochas7
    Offline

    mochas7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    A new version (there are differences from the previously leaked one) of the Netflix APK has been officially released in the market for SOME phones. XDA Developers have also released a version of their own.

    I gave it a shot loading the XDA version (I can't get the Market one) on the Huawei IDEOS S7 running the Indonesian 2.2.2 ROM Rooted.

    The apk installs fine, you can log in fine, there are NO ERRORS about your "phone" not being supported (which is very common based on forum readings - my android phone gives that error).

    When you click a movie to play, the movie player opens, title of the movie and progress bar appear at the bottom and you can hear about 1 second of sound.

    All seems good, BUT then after that 1 second of sound, the player abruptly stops and goes back to the netflix menus.

    After I installed the app, a Adobe Flash 10.3 update just happened to appear, which had not shown previously, so I updated that, but still no luck. Rebooted several times, battery pull, with and without T-Mobile SIM installed. No luck.

    Any ideas? We seem REALLY close to having this work. The device even shows as registered on my netflix account.

    HELP!
  2. joenilan
    Offline

    joenilan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7, HD2, HTC Tilt
    i brought this up last night in the irc chat... it's something i definitely want to look into as well.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. elf310
    Offline

    elf310 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos S7-104
    Try this worked on my gtab, but i side loaded netflix from my nexus one

    1.) Download the Root Explorer application or equivalent. (Root Explorer is a paid app, but it’s one of the best, so it may be worth it to you)

    2.) Open Root Explorer and go into the System folder

    3.) Once there, hit the Mount R/W button at the top right

    4.) Hold down on the Build.prop file and open it in the text editor

    5.) Change the following lines to look like the HTC build.prop

    Here are the changes in text format:

    ro.product.model=HTC Vision
    ro.product.brand=tmobile
    ro.product.name=vision
    ro.product.device=vision
    ro.product.board=vision

    ro.product.manufacturer=HTC

    ro.build.fingerprint=tmobile/htc_vision/vision/vision:2.2/FRF91/277427:user/release-keys

    6.) Hit menu, and Save & Exit. You should be told that the original build.prop was saved as build.prop.bak.

    7.) Reboot the phone.

    8.) Download and install the Netflix application, log in, and you should be good to go.

    This makes your tab look like a tmobile G2 to netflix

    gonna have to steal my s7 back from my son to try it on that
    Last edited: May 13, 2011
  4. mochas7
    Offline

    mochas7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Attempted this with no change/no success. I am pretty sure I followed these directions perfectly.

    Other ideas anyone?





  5. fachex
    Offline

    fachex Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
  6. mochas7
    Offline

    mochas7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the link.

    Unfortunately, it did not work for me. The app behaved the same way I described earlier.

    What ROM are you running? Which model of the S7?

    I am running Indonesian 2.2.2 Rooted with USA Best Buy S7 model.

  7. mochas7
    Offline

    mochas7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also tried the build.prop technique with the Nexus S settings I found on the net. It did not work either.

    We are so close! Anyone have success any other way yet?
  8. Felix
    Offline

    Felix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Apeldoorn, Netherlands
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7 and a HTC Wildfire
    I dont experience the problems described in this topic :)
  9. mochas7
    Offline

    mochas7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What device do you have?

    What ROM are you running?

    What country are you in?
  10. Felix
    Offline

    Felix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Apeldoorn, Netherlands
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7 and a HTC Wildfire
    Iam using a Huawei Ideos S7 (S7-105) with the Indonesian 2.2.2 ROM, and iam living in the Netherlands ...
  11. mochas7
    Offline

    mochas7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! So you're able to stream Netflix movies?

    Is Netflix in the Netherlands? Do you stream via a US proxy?

    I have tried many different mods to stream on the S7 and it just won't work.

    Any other ideas out there?
  12. TechRemedy
    Offline

    TechRemedy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7[rooted] PanDigital Novel[rooted]
    Is anyone else able to stream Netflix? I just get the queue working and when I try to stream a movie, the loading screen starts and then it kicks me back to the queue. I have tried a few different .apk's. The one currently installed gives me an error instead of kicking back to the queue. The error is:

    Any one gotten further?
  13. NevadaDave
    Offline

    NevadaDave Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nevada
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7, Ainol Novo Flame
    Nope, that's what my BB S7 does, also. I have indonesian 2.2.2, rooted with SOC. It would sure be nice to be able to bypass playon!

    Sent from my IDEOS S7 using Android Tablet Forum
  14. kevmueller
    Offline

    kevmueller Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City MO
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7 & Droid X
    I have tried all the version that I could find. I was doing the same thing on my droidX as the rom I was on would not run it either. I moved to the newest stock Gingerbread leak and it works great on my X. Just wish there was a version out there that we could get to work on the S7.
  15. JDubTrey
    Offline

    JDubTrey Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Tablet / Device:
    Milestone
    I haven't had a chance to upgrade to 2.2 yet (I have 2.1 on the Best Buy version). I have gotten the xda "device check disabled" version to run on my mid-range Moto Milestone phone (and from looking at various apps, the S7 is more powerful than my Milestone).

    Have any of you done a logcat on the S7 to see if there are errors being logged there?
  16. taitony
    Offline

    taitony Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7
    Confirm that apk is working without change the build file but it just run 1 second movie as stated at #1.
  17. fachex
    Offline

    fachex Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    My apologies, it does not work. It does what you mentioned. I thought it did because it started the movie but I had only and "account error" because I had put the account on hold. But after I released the hold I realized that It didn't work.
    My apologies.
  18. joenilan
    Offline

    joenilan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7, HD2, HTC Tilt
    I've gotten it to work on the brazil 2.2.1 by the way. Maybe has something to do with the android version.

    Sent from my Nexus S using Android Tablet Forum
  19. lemmyslender
    Offline

    lemmyslender Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @joenilian

    Any issues with the Brazilian Rom? I'd love to get Netflix running. Care to share details? Any clue what the differences are with the Singapore rom?
  20. blade111
    Offline

    blade111 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FLA
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Has anyone tried doing netflix now since the new update. This is what it says on the update, (Removed check that prevented attempt to playback on unsupported devices)

Share This Page