New and things I would like out of my A500

Justicw

Jul 22, 2011
I am new to the tablet world but not new to android (I have an original droid and I read a lot of the droidforums.net)

I just got my new tablet and there are two things I need (ok not need but dang I realy want it) Netflix and tethering from my droid.

I made the assumption it would be as easy as downloading netfix off of the market and as easy as finding my wifi off of my phone... Yea I was wrong and I didn't investigate properly :(

My question is this can I (without harm or negitive impact on my new tablet) get netflix and or tethering? I'm not afraid of rooting my tablet but I don't want any custom roms (sick of TOO many updates or NO updates at all from the devs lol).

I have read many threads about getting netflix to work and they all have fragmented instructions and post after post of stories about stuff NOT working after "patching" certian things.

So here are my questions is there a step by step somewhere for my model tablet to get netfix to work?

Will netflix come to my tablet on it's own eventualy?

Will adhoc be supported on my tablet in the future?

What are the negitives of patching my tablet with the adhoc workaround patch or the netflix file patch?

Sorry for the book but I realy wanted to use this for netfix and I need someone of getting on the net while I'm in town or at work hehe.

THANKS EVERYONE!!

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
My understanding is that there is a Netflix APK floating around somewhere that does not even require root.
I can't vouch for it, supposedly its the market version hacked a little bit. There is ALWAYS a risk with installing a .apk from unknown sources. You have to decide if you can wait just a little longer for it to appear in the market for your tablet, or if your head will explode this weekend without it. ;-)

Yes, it is expected Netflix will come to Acer soon.

As for Teathering, if you have to hack something, hack the phone.