New Firmware Update for the 101!!

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by Snyperx, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. Snyperx

    Snyperx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    MADtown, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Still evaluating
    Just wanted to let everyone know a new firmware update is available for the 101. It is version 2.1.3.

    http://update.archos.com/8/gen8/gen8_2.1.03/firmware_archos_android_gen8.aos

    Version 2.1.3 - January 27th, 2010

    Video: fix some audio glitches after seeking WMA files
    Video: add support for MTS files
    Video: bring UTF-8 and UTF-16 encoded subtitles format support
    Video: fix SUB subtitles sometimes truncated
    Video: add IDX/SUB subtitle handling
    Video: fix http://.*mpeg playback
    Video: support resume and bookmark for network shares
    Video: fix some FLV files not playing
    Youtube: fix mobile site video not playing
    Multimedia: fix RTSP support for Android applications
    Multimedia: fix some web radio applications by adding basic M3U support
    Audio: apply shorter steps in audio balance tuning
    Audio: fix sound glitch on system notification while playing music
    Music browser: fix album view crash on scroll with a lot of albums
    Music: support samba protected directory access
    Thumbnails: resolve thumbs generation freeze
    Indexing: improve rescan robustness
    Indexing: fix scanning not restarting after connecting device on PC or ejecting SDCard
    Network shares: large files (>2GB) can now be played
    Wi-Fi: fix disabling power saving not working
    Wi-Fi: enable IEEE802.11n support
    Wi-Fi: achieve faster reconnection
    SDCard: fix sdcard removal not being taken into account
    Storage: enable EXT3 filesystem support and migration
    USB keyboard: fix external directional keys layout when rotating the device
    Memory: enable 32MB swap by default and increase it to 64MB after Android reset or full device reformat
    Applications: fix applications disappearing sometimes between reboots
    Applications: fix unit not responsive after Google voicesearch use
    Power management: allow to define deep sleep mode by default in settings/about device/power management
    VPN: PPTP VPN support has been fixed
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  2. bigblue206

    bigblue206 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Is this only for the 101 or is it for the 70 as well.
     
  3. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    This is for ALL Gen 8 Archos. The 28 32 43 70 and 101. I have installed on my 101. The only problem I have discovered is a bit more sensitive Capacitive. I recalibrated and all was well. Been using since this Afternoon (6+Hours) and is more responsive. I did format to gain 64Mb of swap over the 32 which it adds without formatting.
    I think it is a winner on all apps tested thus far
     
  4. etxjaol

    etxjaol Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 101
    after upgrade to 2.1.2 my 101 will not reboot and start screen goes cyclic.

    Any one else expirenced that ??
     
  5. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    This is not for the 250 gb version of the Archos 70, though. I went to the Archos website, downloaded the .aos file and attempted to update manually. When it rebooted to update, it gave me a "File is not the correct update" error.

    Sent from my DROID 2 Global using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  6. jkane

    jkane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    So far so good. Seems more responsive. Less hangs, but it's only been a few hours. Video does seem to play better too. I only tested that for about 10 minutes so far.
     
  7. Snyperx

    Snyperx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    MADtown, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Still evaluating
    Can someone try downloading from the market? I was able to load the market, but can;t seem to download anything. I am wondering if the gappsinstaller is not compatible with the new firmware version.

    UPDATE: So I tried to uninstall the Android Market and after rebooting I got into a boot screen loop. It never loaded to Android. Looks like we have an issue.

    UPDATE 2: Well to fix my market download issue I ended up doing a complete reformat of the device and then reload of the firmware. Tablet is running great now.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  8. bmurf

    bmurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 Internet Tablet
    I "think" I installed this correctly. After downloading it 3 times from Archos and getting a different file size each time with unsuccessful installations, I managed to get the 82.74mb version but I don't know if it installed. Can't tell the difference and I was REALLY looking forward to playing MTS files but the one I tried it says it's damaged.

    1. Anyone try MTS files in the video player with this version and did they work?

    2. How do you see the current version of firmware that you have?

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
  9. blackstone

    blackstone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    Do this required a clean reformat 1st or can I just go ahead and update?
     
  10. MikeDilligaf

    MikeDilligaf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    West Seneca (Buffalo), New York
    Tablet / Device:
    Ordered ARCHOS 70
    I have the same question.

    And if you do have to do a reformat, what is the best and fastest way to backup all my apps?
     
  11. GratefulDiver

    GratefulDiver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Kalamazoo
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 101 & Evo 4G
    Triple that question:
    Is reformat required for gappsinstaller?


    Also, does .MTS support actually work?


    I am holding off on the update since the 101 is actually the fiance's machine...
     
  12. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    Can answer for GApps, If you already have it installed, no worries, should still be there.(Unless updating from Eclair OS to Froyo)
    On MTS, No idea, I do not use them. I do know there is limited M3U functionality.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
archos 101 g8 firmware
,
archos 101 gen 8 firmware
,

archos 101 internet tablet firmware

,
archos 101 internet tablet firmware download
,
archos 101 internet tablet firmware hack
,
archos 101 internet tablet firmware update
,
archos 101 internet tablet firmware update download
,
archos 101 internet tablet gen8 firmware download
,

archos 101 internet tablet update

,
archos 101 internet tablet updates
,
archos 101 tablet latest fimware
,
archos gen 8 101 it firmware
,
archos internet tablet 101 firmware
,
download archos 101 gen 8 firmware
,
download newest firmware for archos 101it
,
firmware top it tadroid n101
,
fix archos 101 android firmware
,
gingerbread update for gen8 archos 101
,
how to update archos 101 internet tablet softwear
,
os updates for n101