New here and help please with furious 7" tablet

Discussion in 'Infotmic Based' started by PeteAttryde, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. PeteAttryde

    PeteAttryde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Northwich Cheshire
    Tablet / Device:
    Furious 7"
    Hi New here an new to android tablets,

    I won a Furious 7" tablet. seems to be a generic Chinese clone using an IMAPX200 processor.

    From new the volume control in the software (confirmed by disassembling and eliminating the mechanical buttons) permanently drives to full volume this leaves a media volume pop-up on screen all the time and cause the unit to beep repeatedly. Also the unit is registered on my google account as being on China telecom which makes Market pretty useless.

    I don't have the option of returning the device, so would like to try re-installing the operating system.

    So far I have managed to root the unit and have terminal emulator working.

    This allowed me to get the HWVER (0.5.0.6) but I can't find any matching updates or software versions

    From device information:-

    Model Number :- m799ca V2.2
    Android Version :- 2.3.3
    Baseband version :- unknown
    Kernel Version :- 2.6.35.7-InfoTM neville@neville-desktop #7
    Build Number :- m799ca-eng 2.3.3 GRI40 eng.petter.20111201.143607 test-keys

    Hwver 0.5.0.6

    I would like a uk compatible operating system either 2.3 or 2.2 but can't seem to find one.

    This is the device I have :- Furious 7" 1GHz CPU Android 2.3 Tablet MID ePad Flash 10.1 1080P HDMI 4GB Android Market WiFi Facebook Skype: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Many thanks in advance,

    Pete.
     
  2. cfrockit

    cfrockit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
    Welcome! You might want to view the Sylvania Tablets forum as well since most of the issues/tweaks for the 7" tablets have been posted there.

    Also, Compu_Guy has being doing a little research on the location issue. In this post copied below - http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...t-access-google-apps-market-3.html#post163730

    I'll see what I can find for the specific Hardware Id "hwver" you posted. Also, do a quick search on the Model number "M799" on this site as some info has been posted.

    Update: Here is the other post referencing Model M799 it is a work in progress as well. http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-new-tablet-not-sure-exactly-what-i-have.html
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
    • Like Like x 2
  3. PeteAttryde

    PeteAttryde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Northwich Cheshire
    Tablet / Device:
    Furious 7"
    cfrockit,

    Thanks for the reply, I will look forward to any further information you may be able to supply.

    I think I am probably at about the same point as compu_guy in as much as I think I have hit the limit of my understanding with how to edit the existing code to fix the issues.

    Unfortunately searching for M799 (and similar) only seems to bring up this thread and the one you have linked to.

    Pete.

    update:

    Got bored at work, so pulled the case off this thing again, and looked for a model number on the PCB. It appears to be an M2706 which when google'd threw up this thread :- http://www.techknow.t0xic.nl/forum/index.php?topic=198.0 which seems to have some links for firmware in it. As I have nothing to loose I am going to try one and see what happens.

    I will report back.

    Pete.

     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  4. PeteAttryde

    PeteAttryde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Northwich Cheshire
    Tablet / Device:
    Furious 7"
    Ok well, I am now somewhat frustrated. I have spent most of the day playing around with this.

    I decided to use the EKEN firmware for the M009F (downloaded from here :- EKEN Support Tablet PC,Car Video Recorder,)

    I followed the instructions on the site and downloaded the infoTMIC update tool and the Firmware.

    I have extracted both .rar files to the desk top and then followed the instructions supplied for using an SD as I can't get usb connectivity and I can't for the life of me find the .ius file. Which has stopped me in my tracks.

    I used winrar to extract the files.

    Pete
     
  5. cfrockit

    cfrockit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
    That's a simple one! They didn't provide the firmware packed into an InfoTMIC Update Wrap (.ius). They provided each of the individual images U0, Ramdisk, Kernel, Userdata, and system.

    M009Fad23.rar\M009F\uboot\u-boot-nand.bin is U0

    Not sure what is the difference to the two directories UsbtoEth-5P and Gmac-30P but all of the needed images are in either of the folders.

    M009Fad23.rar\M009F\Image\Gmac-30P\android\
    ramdisk.img
    system.img
    uImage "Kernel"
    updater "RD_"
    userdata.img

    If you can't use IUW.exe in Expert mode: to select and burn each of the images, search for vio's IusEdit utility to create your own InfoTMIC Update Wrap (.ius) file to burn from sd.

    Here is a link to the utility and in some of previous posts of the thread it show how it works. http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...om-sylvania-rom-development-9.html#post106127
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  6. bionicboy12

    bionicboy12 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Scotland
    Tablet / Device:
    ebellking Eb018 Tablet pc
    Hi there,
    I also have one of these Furious tabs but unlike the previous poster im a technophobe! All i would like to do is remove China telecoms so that the Uk app market is available to allow me to get skype and kindle. Any help would be great
     
  7. PeteAttryde

    PeteAttryde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Northwich Cheshire
    Tablet / Device:
    Furious 7"
    Thanks again cfrokit,

    I have managed to create a .ius and to get the device to boot from the SD card however, the EKEN firmware doesn't appear to be compatible with this unit as I am getting the following message:-

    This is not a wrap for current product!!
    Press Power key 7 sec to reboot !

    re-booting the device, shows it still has the original firmware.
    so I am close but not quite there yet.

    update:

    Worked out that I need to set the hwver to the one for this unit in the .IUS file

    Now I get :-

    Update package is demaged
    Press Power key 7 sec to reboot !

    So I guess I have not quite complied the .IUS correctly.

    More later.

    Pete

    OK i'm stuck again :(.

    I am definitely struggling with the coding as I don't really know what I am looking at.

    Pete
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
  8. PeteAttryde

    PeteAttryde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Northwich Cheshire
    Tablet / Device:
    Furious 7"
    bionicboy12,

    From my research I am not totally convinced that there is a simple fix yet.

    the thread cfrokit linked to further up implies that the region for market is coded into the operating system and will need to be edited to solve the issue.

    If I can get mine to work with out the volume issues I have at the moment I am hoping to explore the coding and see if I can make market work correctly. I will also need to learn more about writing code.
     
  9. zannyuk

    zannyuk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Hi Pete,

    Your doing brilliantly, once there unwrapped tommorow ill be able to join this party :)

    I actually have 2, one is same as yours a m799 v2.2 but the other is m799 v2.0 The screen does seem more responsive on the v2.2.

    What program did you use to root it?
     
  10. PeteAttryde

    PeteAttryde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Northwich Cheshire
    Tablet / Device:
    Furious 7"
    I think I used gingerbreak, but I can't be sure as I have looked at a lot of different apps and bits of software in the last few days and it is all blurring a bit at the moment.

    Pete.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. maxwebb

    maxwebb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    florida
    Tablet / Device:
    M009G Google Android 2.2
    Hello all I have a M009G Google Android 2.2 and im having the same problem its running off China Telecom Infotmic M799ca. so i cant add netflix or ireader its in chinesse can anyone help me soft mod this tablet to work from a american processer? here the link to the site i got it from http://www.***************/product63687.html
     
  12. 1280

    1280 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    M009F
    Any joy with this, I have exactly the same problem!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

emajing photo editor android apps

,

tablets used in furious 7