New system update available

PeteDee

May 21, 2011
Just downloaded it OTA.

Now showing version 3.0.1

Two problems I was having on my A500 appear to be fixed, the random keys input and Google Sky are fixed. Still showing the battery using cell standby on a wireless only A500.

Cheers.

Pete

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
Wait, I thought 3.1 was rolling out. Why are people getting updates to 3.0.1"
And PeteDee, what country are you in?

whitegoose

May 21, 2011
I got the update a few days ago in Australia, on the day 3.1 was released but it was not the 3.1 update... I have since read that Acer will be releasing Honeycomb 3.1 in June.

As a side note, I'm pretty new to the Android world and I donlt really understand why different machines get OS updates at different times... If Honeycomb 3.1 is available why can't it be installed on any machine rather than waiting for my machine's manufacturer to release it? Not necessarily a criticism, I just don't get it!

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
I got the update a few days ago in Australia, on the day 3.1 was released but it was not the 3.1 update... I have since read that Acer will be releasing Honeycomb 3.1 in June.

Ah, thanks for clearing that up. I was confused.

As a side note, I'm pretty new to the Android world and I donlt really understand why different machines get OS updates at different times... If Honeycomb 3.1 is available why can't it be installed on any machine rather than waiting for my machine's manufacturer to release it? Not necessarily a criticism, I just don't get it!

Its because for speed, security, and small size, most of the drivers are embedded into the OS, rather than called as dynamically loaded modules like you would find in a computer. At this time, Amdroid is still largely built as a monolithic OS.

As such, each vendor has to get the source, recompile and link in their own drivers for each model. Different storage controllers, screen drivers, bluetooth chips, wifi chips, USB controllers, etc.