New to Tablets - Kyros 7127 Questions

TG39359

May 10, 2012
Okay, I'm new to the tablet world and have just purchased for my 7 yr old daughter a Coby Kyros 7127. I have some questions that Coby Tech Support has yet to answer (after a few days):

[FONT=Verdana, Helvetica, Arial]1) Is there a way to modify the accesses individual apps have? For example, I’m not comfortable with some of the things the install says to allow: Full internet access, modify/delete SD card contents, and (I cannot find one with the specific wording, but) allowing the app to make purchases. It doesn’t appear that I can uncheck the boxes that are shown. Is there a way after downloading an app to put restrictions on? Or can you explain in non-tech terms examples of what these mean?

2) I purchased a Sandisk 32GB microSD; however, when I go to move app from the device to the SD card, it recognizes the 4GB internal card but not the 32GB card. When I look at the SD card settings in storage settings, it’s showing 29.71 GB total space and 29.71 available space.

3) Why can some apps/items not be moved to the SD card?

4) Is there a way to lock the settings so that my daughter cannot accidentally change something that she shouldn’t?

5) Is there a way to add contacts? I installed Text+ and when I tried to save myself as a contact, it says that it automatically recognizes from my device. However, I cannot find where to add them?

6) Any suggestions for a free text/phone app? Text+ was just one that I found that seemed to have okay ratings.

7) I see a lot about rooting, and being not so tech-savvy, am nervous about it. I saw that it can cause bricking and saw in this forum a number of posts about the 7127 bricking.

I would love any suggestions, etc that anyone might have. I have an iPhone so I'm somewhat familiar with Apple apps and the workings of my phone, but really do not want to screw up my daughter's tablet. It's going to be a gift for finishing the school year with all A's. :)