NEWBIE - communication between ext hd, iphone, android slider, and microsd

missjazeeboo

Feb 10, 2012
Hi, I'm TOTALLY new to this. I was going to buy an ipad, but it's pretty much a bigger iphone (which I own), and Android looks so much more interesting :)

Anyways, I know I can accomplish this with a laptop, but I'm trying to avoid lugging that around, and I'm trying to find out how to do this (if it's possible) with my Android tablet WITHOUT a network connection. I'm going on a cruise and don't want to do this over wifi/network.

The slider has a USB. I wanted to use a usb hub and connect 1) external hard drive 2) iphone 3) camera with SD card

Goal: to use the tablet as a means of transferring files from the iphone or camera TO the external hard drive. The equivalent to transferring pics/videos in win explorer.

IS THIS POSSIBLE?

Going even more back to basics, how and is it possible for the Android tablet to recognize the iphone? I plugged it in and it wants to import into picasa.

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
well it is possible to connect an iPhone, but it is not going to use the proprietary apps. So, to answer the whole question, yes but it is going to be somewhat dependent on the Tablet and the specific peripherals you want to connect. Since you were looking at the iPad, I will assume you are willing to pay for a top of the line tablet, something like a Samsung, ASUS or Motorola. All of those will support those connections, but they all do it differently.

jtsauburn

Sep 15, 2011
You have several options to move files from one device to another, depending upon which devices you have:

1. Bluetooth: most phones and tablets have bluetooth available and you should be able to connect that way. Most cameras do not have bluetooth.