Nexus 10

mikeloew

Oct 31, 2012
Hi all, newbie here. I have been thinking about getting a tablet. I have no android experience but I am very well versed with windows. I have looked at most tablets and really like the specs on the new Nexus 10. I like the usb and HDMI ports. I can not tell for sure but it looks like it has front facing speakers also. I have a few friends that tell me to NOT by a 10'' and to buy a 7'' as its much easier to hold? I also like the fact that I can upgrade the operating system as new ones come out. Should I be looking at anything else. Thanks Mike

If you have not seen it yet here is a link
https://play.google.com/store/devices/details?id=nexus_10_16gb&feature=device-featured#?t=W10.

Last edited:

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
Welcome.

It does indeed have front facing speakers. You can find some additional info in our Android Tablet News section including some thoughts on the device. Overall it looks pretty nice but you may want to wait a bit until it has been reviewed and in use for a couple of weeks before making a decision.

10" vs 7" is a personal preference. It really depends on what you want to do with the device and how mobile you really need to be. 7" is definitely easier to hold in one hand and you will be much more inclined to take it along with you on outings. If you need to type docs, surf the web from the couch or watch a lot of movies then 10" is the way to go.

Since this is your first exploration of Android tablets the 7" Nexus 7 might be the place to start. It is half the price of the Nexus 10 and will give you a good idea what Android is all about with proven performance.

JP

mikeloew

Oct 31, 2012
Welcome.

It does indeed have front facing speakers. You can find some additional info in our Android Tablet News section including some thoughts on the device. Overall it looks pretty nice but you may want to wait a bit until it has been reviewed and in use for a couple of weeks before making a decision.