Noob Question

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by Kingram1952, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. Kingram1952

    Kingram1952 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I have a Acer Iconia A500 8 GB. When I download apps everything goes to Internal storage , how do I use my micro Sd card ? I have a 16 card installed.
    Thanks
     
  2. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    On honeycomb, apps are only stored in main memory. Use your Microsd for music and movies.
     
  3. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    On some devices with earlier version of Honeycomb, you can move apps to sdcard partition (Apps2SD), but it will still use internal space (different partition tho).

    To use an external SD, you need Link2SD, which requires a rooted device to work. I haven't tested it on A500 tho.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  4. Kingram1952

    Kingram1952 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    How do I direct these to MicroSD Card when saving/ downloading them. Does this apply to pictures as well ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  5. iblinker

    iblinker Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Android tablet - android cell phone
    download &install android assistant from the market & in tools select "app2sd"
     
  6. Kingram1952

    Kingram1952 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Thank You.
     
  7. emagin

    emagin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    SF
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I have installed this but nothing happens when I click on a simple app to move it
    I get taken to the Application Info page where I see Force Stop and Uninstall buttons.
    Then what???
    Can't do anything from there to MOVE the app.

    I can see /mnt/external_sd
    I get notified "External SD Card Installed"
    I can see contents of external_sd with ESExplorer or other file browsers

    Thank you for the help!
     
  8. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310

    The answer was given in post #2 of this thread.
     
  9. emagin

    emagin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    SF
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Thank you Icebike. Is this by design?
    I have 32gb of space for what exactly?? All my content (and I have a lot) is not coming from me.
    It is coming from Beyondpod, Google reader cache, EarthENC maps, charts, google maps cache etc.
    I need to store tons of data locally upon sync and it's the apps that control that, I can't get in there to manually do that.

    Are there any options?
    Is it possible to root device and then hack the default cache locations within the OS?

    Thanks
     
  10. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Yes it is by design. Its not a bug. Its not changing in ICS.

    32Gigs is a boatload of storage.

    You can put your media, music, videos, pictures, documents, on the MicroSD card and never have them consume internal space.

    Google reader and Google Listen just doesn't take up all that much space (they mostly works off of the Google cloud).

    You can ***** at BeyondPod and other software developers that store a lot of data, and maybe get them to allow storage of content to the external microSD. I've had some success emailing developers for that in the past. Google won't pay attention, but other developers usually do.

    Cache is better left to the management of the tablet, It will free cache when it needs space. You can also control how much cache to use in some apps.

    Actually, you are better off putting your big media on the microsd, and then stop worrying about it, other than to clear your download directory once in a while. This is not something you need to micro manage.
     
  11. scubaboyc

    scubaboyc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    Not to hijack, but I've been meaning to ask this question. What is one actually seeing from the download app? For example, my wife emailed me a picture. I downloaded it and then moved to my picture folder on my external. When I tap on the download app, I still "see" it there.
    If I've moved things out of my download folder, is it safe to delete them from within the app? It looks like I have alot of stuff in there, but it's empty. I've never been sure if I would delete the file or just some kind of "pointer" or whatever it's called.
    Thanks.
     
  12. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Best I can tell, the Downloads app simply is a list of things were downloaded, and stored (usually in your Downloads directory).
    If you have trouble finding things you download, open this app and you get a list.

    But the list points to where you downloaded and stored the file, and once you move it, it has no idea where it is located.
    It might offer to download it again in this case, but in my experience it usually fails for one reason or another.
     

Share This Page