Nook Color for True Noobs

kimdvm

Feb 12, 2011
OK, so not only am I a NC newbie, I'm new to android as well. I've found that as I search these forums and other sources that sometimes people assume we know stuff that we may not, like what an adb driver is and how to install one. Some of you might not have used a command line or DOS commands before. Or maybe you're wondering how to install shortcuts on your desktop. You get the picture.

So I'm hoping this thread will contain 3 things. 1) How-tos 2)How do I . . . questions and answers and 3)apps that you like/apps that work and apps that you don't like/don't work. I realize all of these things are spread around in different places but I'm hoping we can amass enough information in one place for me to put together a users guide.

So my 1st post (after this one) will be a Noobs guide to rooting the NC, installing a launcher, and installing/running Honeycomb. :cool:

kimdvm

Feb 12, 2011
How to:
1) Root Nook Color
2) Install a Launcher
3) Install run Honeycomb from microSD Card

Note: I realize there are a many other sources out there including some on this forum. The links and instructions I’m listing are simply the ones that worked for me.

Root Your Nook Color

If you want to know why you’d want to root your nook and/or what rooting does check out –
http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/nook/4302-root-not-root.html or
Hack The Nook | How to Hack and Root Your Nook

If you haven’t already checked out this sticky you’ll want to. www.androidtablets.net/forum/nook/3458-nookcolor-useful-links-frequently-asked-questions-read-first.html
Among other things there’s a link to nookdevs.com for rooting instructions. The instructions listed below are a little simpler and easier to follow IMHO.