Nook Tablet (All things Hacking Ramp-up)

biggjoe

Dec 26, 2011
Greetings Everyone,

First-off, a little about myself:

I'm pretty familiar with the world of rooting/hacking/exploiting devices on multiple platforms, such as:

1. - Android (Rooting/Hacking/Custom Recovery, Kernals, Nandroids, Custom ROMs, etc.)

2. - Palm/HP WebOS (Developer Mode/WOSQI/PreWare/Custom Kernals/Patching/Themes, etc.)

3. - Blackberry (BBSAK/Vendor-Independent Custom OS/CODs/Themes, etc.)

4. - iPhone Jail-breaking (tethered/untethered) cydia apps, installous, etc.)

5. - HomeBrew/Exploiting of non-phone devices (Nintendo WII, Nintendo DS/I, Sony PSP), hell, even uncapping Motorola Surfboard Modems back in the day!

That all said, I'm pretty familiar with the whole scene. So although I'm no expert...I'm also not a complete n00b.

...except for Tablets, like the Nook Tablet!!! I'm still pretty much a n00b when it comes to tablets. I did assist a friend of mine in rooting here Viewsonic G-Tab a few months ago, but that's about it.

I just bought my son a Nook Tablet for Christmas and like all of the other devices, it's ready to be hacked.

With that said, I have all of the common questions that many first-timers do on the Nook Tablet, with the added experience that I can draw from.

So that said, can someone give me a 'quick n' dirty' breakdown or summary on where we are at today with the Nook Tablet in terms of rooting/hacking/exploits? Such points would include:

1. - Rooting; Are there multiple utilities out there, or is it all done through ADB?

2. - Custom Recovery: How many types of Custom Recovery choices are there for the Nook Tablet? My personal favorite is Xionia Clockwork.

3. - Custom ROMs: Are there tons of choices or only a few to choose from? Which ones are recommended? Which ones should I avoid?