Nook Tablet won't stay connected to Netgear WNR2000

Discussion in 'Nook Tablet' started by freakytah, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. freakytah

    freakytah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    I picked up a nook tablet yesterday, and haven't had any luck getting it to stay connected to the internet. I took it back in to the store and they said that is was defective and gave me a new one (it connected at the store, but kept resetting). I stayed at the store with the new one to see how it worked...I watched netflix a little, surfed the web, etc...just fine.

    Now that I'm back at home it won't connect. When it initially connects to the network it says "connected to the internet" but anytime I try to use the web nothing works. My router is a WNR2000 that has all the current updates. I've never had any issues using wi-fi with my computer or android phone, and plenty of people have accessed my internet just fine.

    Is this a running trend? Are there certain routers that won't work with the device? I really don't want to purchase another router just to use this thing...

    Thanks!
     
  2. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Nope, but you might have to reset your router. Unplug it for about 10 seconds or so then plug it back in to power cycle it. Then see if your connection works better.
     
  3. freakytah

    freakytah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    Yeah I've tried that a few times, and it isn't helping at all. I don't get it....
     
  4. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Are you using WPA encryption or WEP? If WEP try switching to WPA.
     
  5. freakytah

    freakytah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    I've cycled the router a few times, powered down the tablet, forgotten and re-entered my network, and tried running it on WPA-PSK [TKIP], WPA2-PSK [AES], and WPA-PSK [TKIP] + WPA2-PSK [AES] with no success.

    I was at micro center today to ask someone there for ideas, and they said it could be a port forwarding issue? He said to look up the default for the nook, but I can't find anything like that online. I know enough to generally make stuff work, but this is a little over my head. Anyone have any idea what he's talking about? I found the port forwarding section in my router, but I'm not sure what to set it to to see if that's the issue
     
  6. RobKort

    RobKort Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    Is the router dual band 5Ghz/2Gz? Some devices do not support them. If is a security issue, try disabling the security on the router to see if it connect like that. If it does then is security for sure.

    Sent from Rob's TapadaAtrix :)
     
  7. freakytah

    freakytah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    According to the netgear forums it's 2.4Ghz only. That's a good idea to try without any security, but unfortunately it's still doing the same thing. It gets an IP, says connected to the internet, but when I try it loses it's connection.
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Is your time and date synced? I have seen problems if it is too far off and can't stay connected long enough to sync. If the time is far off try manually setting then turn on the auto update.
     
  9. freakytah

    freakytah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    You mean the time and date on the tablet? Yeah that's all correct. Man this is frustrating!
     
  10. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Yes, I meant time and date on the tablet. Just trying some random things encountered in the past at this point. I understand how frustrating that must be.
     
  11. RobKort

    RobKort Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    Try connecting it to another router. It cold just be a bad radio on the tablet.

    Sent from Rob's TapadaAtrix :)
     
  12. CLSmith

    CLSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    Location:
    Montana
    Tablet / Device:
    Nookcolor& Droid 2 (Froyo)
    I have a Netgear router also, not the same model. Not only do I have problems with it connecting to my NC CM7.1, but other people have problems connecting too. I have tried all the above, changes in the other posts, but nothing seems to help. The only one I have not tried is connecting when running stock, to see if it's maybe a CM7 issue. I'm not where that router is til tomorrow, so I'll give it a try then. I'm connected to a Bellingham right now and have never had a problem.

    Sent from my NookColor CM7 7.1 on SD
     
  13. freakytah

    freakytah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    Well I was out of town for the weekend, and the nook ran perfectly on 5 different routers while I was gone. Now that I'm back it's still having the same connection problem. It's getting quite annoying!
     
  14. RobKort

    RobKort Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    So is definitely router issue then.

    Sent from Rob's TapadaAtrix :)
     
  15. dutchpotatoe

    dutchpotatoe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Tablet
    I tried changing all the settings as well. Netgear is the only router I've had these issues with. Before the Nook Tablet I had a similar issue with my nokia smart phone.

    Anyway.. the way I fixed it was by downloading the latest driver from the netgear site and then accessing the router the normal way and doing an update by selecting the driver file. It's working alright now.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android phone wont stay connected to netgear n150 router

,

netgear issues nook

,

netgear router some devises stay connected others do not

,

netgear router wont work with tablet

,

wnr2000 wont connect to andriod