O/S Upgrades

aintnorock

Aug 23, 2013
How does one upgrade to the latest operating system?

I am a complete noob when it comes to tablets, so bear with me.

I have Android O/S 4.1.1 on a generic, no brand name, made in China by slave children (I made that last part up, probably true) tablet.

I also have another Vizio tablet with Honeycomb.

I would like to upgrade both to Jelly Bean, if I could, or at least the same o/s so I can learn both of them - learning two different O/s is providing a steep learning curve. The Vizio tablet is my wifes.

Thanks,
Carl

Frederuco

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jul 6, 2011
Welcome to the forum!

In the Android world, it is up to the device manufacturer to push out the new OS if they so choose. The only exception to this is the Nexus devices as they are supposed to be a pure Google device that they get updated first.

For many tablets, the only way to get a new OS is to find a custom firmware made by a 3rd party developer and then install it manually using a custom recovery.

I have an Asus Transformer TF101. It was released in April of 2011. The last firmware update by the device OEM is ICS 4.0.3 in July of 2013. I am currently running the latest Jelly Bean 4.3 on it thanks to a developer who has compiled the source code and adapted it to get the device running. It is 99% working great (no front camera because I have photosphere working).

So, with that being said, it may be very difficult for you to upgrade your tablets to both run the same version unless it was popular enough for a developer to make a custom ROM for it.

aintnorock

Aug 23, 2013
So, I'm guessing what this means is that I'm stuck with what I got on the generic (all it says is Made in China), and if Vizio decides to upgrade, I might get something better. I think I'll try their support.

Thanks
Carl

edap

Dec 12, 2012
Hi, Carl.

Welcome to our Forum.