Oneline College Student Seeking Advice

adcastillo

Jun 2, 2011
Hello,

I am a online college student and I am seeking advice on purchasing a tablet for school. I have a very limited income, so I can't afford something very expensive. Mainly looking for:

wifi - to access online classroom and email (3g - would also be great)
text to speech (I have a learning disability)
read school e-textbooks

Thought about just getting an e-reader, like Kindle or Nook. However though I would check out the tablets. I have a laptop that works great, but hate taking it everywhere. Any info can help. Thanks!

beastman

May 8, 2011
7" or 10"? How much? GTablet is $300 or less.

Sent from my GTablet using Android Tablet Forum

morrighu

Jun 3, 2011
I'm in much the same situation. My laptop is a workhorse but it weighs nearly 8 pounds. I've been using my smart phone (Samsung Epic) but I have trouble reading documents, books, etc. on a screen that small. If you're planning on using e-books for textbooks, you might want to opt for the larger screen. I've done some tinkering with tablets owned by co-workers and I have to say that the 10" ones are much nicer to read on.

You might want to consider purchasing the FlexT9 app which will handle dictation - meaning you can speak your documents. I haven't used it personally but a couple of the peeps here in the office like it a lot.