Overwhelmed by selection

Dec 3, 2010
I didn't realize there were so many options!! I'm not too tech savvy, so I am very overwhelmed. I want to get someone on my Christmas list, the android tablet they asked for. They didn;t have a specific brand, they just wanted one with the newer OS, reliable wifi, and a HDMI out so they can watch movies off of it at friends houses. Screen size isn't too much of a issue, but price is. I can't spend anymore than $250 dollars. Can you guys help, or maybe just point me in the right direction? There is just waaaaay too many choices for me to feel right about purchasing one without some expert opinions.

Dec 3, 2010
Well that link would be helpful if I needed help picking what features I want. However I looked at the list of devices, and it didn't even have the gpad g10, which was one of the items I had seen that had the features I wanted. All I really need to know, is: Is there a tablet that does what I want, for the price I want? Now that I've read more, I guess I'd want android 2.2 as well wouldn't I? Could someone maybe give me some opinion instead of facts upon facts upon facts. I already said I was overwhelmed. :p

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
Here it is in basic english. There are really NOT that many choices right now if you look inside. Think in PC terms. The real difference is broken into three groups A. Stay away, B. Only if you are willing to tweak and mod until you have something stable. C. Ready out of the box. You say $250, but I will offer three which you can compare on my poor man's Chart. ALL of the units are coming out of China and most are coming from the same development manufacturing group. I am using these three as they are about the best choices near the price range. But Others may have different opinions

Name ........... Merimobiles................. Herotab ......................Archos
Model ............A81-E or A81-G........... M802 ...........................70