please help i want my ics back.jelly bean is using so much ram

Discussion in 'Asus TF300 Forum' started by testerenecmi, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. testerenecmi

    testerenecmi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    asus tf300tg
    jelly bean is using 670mb ram.but ice cream was using 200-300 mb ram.my tablet works more slower.i want ics back.is there a way? sorry for my english.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    Something else is going on since the vast majority of JB upgraders have said their TF300 was running much smoother on JB than ICS. If you haven't added any apps that could be contributing to it you may want to do a hard reset
     
  3. testerenecmi

    testerenecmi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    asus tf300tg
    how can i do a hard reset?i tried wipe data but there is no change
     
  4. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Usually there is no way to downgrade from an update unless you reflash an older ROM. This is not possible on all devices and is easier on some than others. Suing RAM in itself isn't a bad thing. That is what the RAM is for to be used. It is a frequent misconception that you should have lots of free RAM. In fact that will lead to a slower device overall.

    As leeshor stated, most people have a better experience with Jelly Bean. Chances are that you have a rouge app. Most likely this app did not handle the update well or it just happened to be coincidental to the update. In either case you can try manager apps to track app usage and see which ones are hogging the processor. Remove (or possibly re-install) those apps and you should see your device speed back up.
     
  5. testerenecmi

    testerenecmi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    asus tf300tg
    i dont install any application and now ram usage is 700mb.you are saying that is a frequent misconception but ithink this is a problem
     
  6. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    You don't have any applications installed at all? You should still try a task manager app or battery monitor app that records what is using the most processor (or even use the built in tools in settings). Chances are very high that you have a rogue application or process that needs to be frozen or removed.
     
  7. testerenecmi

    testerenecmi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    asus tf300tg
    which application do you suggest at the play store
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    Your RAM use doesn't bother me at all, it was the statement that it ran so slowly. As JP pointed out the memory use is not a problem, or at least shouldn't be.

    If you did a factory reset and did NOT allow your TF300 to sync with Google and didn't install or re-install any apps and it was slow then there is a problem somewhere. If you allowed it to auto install the apps, that COULD be THE problem.

    This is the answer to one of your questions:

    Hard reset, (no data loss)
    Power off, disconnect from power, hold the volume button in the down position then also hold the power button. Vibration then white text upper left, release both and sit back and wait for a restart.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android jellybean eating ram
,
asus tf300 load more ram with jb than ics
,
asus tf300tl load more ram with jb than ics
,
How much jellybean take on ram
,
how much ram is used for android jelly bean
,
how much should be the ram usage in jelly bean android
,
how to get more free ram in jellybean
,
ics utilizes more ram or jb
,
ics vs jb ram
,
ics vs jb ram usage
,
ics vs jelly bean ram
,
jb takes more ram than ics or not
,
jelly bean eating ram more than compared to ics
,
jelly bean eats lot ram
,
jelly bean ram usage
,
jelly bean ram use
,
jelly bean uses more ram than ics
,
jelly bean vs ics ram usage
,
more free ran ics
,

why ram usage is very high in jellybean