Problems playing video files :( A101

JueBob

Nov 23, 2011
Hi All!

Newbie here, virgin to the android world but hoping that the good old power of the techie brilliance of forum's will rejuvinate my desires to explore the new world I've opened up!

Fighting every fibre of my body, I went against that little voice in my head saying "get an iPad!!! get an iPad!!!" and went for an android tablet. As far as the reviews went, value for money and what I'd been reading about the android OS in general, I felt this the right move! Unfortunately I'm starting to wonder (but willing to have my eyes opened to the non fruit based unit.

Got the Archos 101 18gb the other weekend and started to set it up. Gutted that within such a short space of time I've had to resort to posting on a forum (Google just didn't come up with the goods on this occasion - not lost my faith in Google, awesome beast, just that this must be something specific to the Archos).

In a nutshell, I went for the Android as from what I'd seen, it was the best option to be able to play video across my home network from my NAS box, something that Apple can't (without various app's and even then I've not found one that works so well). Unfortunately after going through the set-up, being forced down the route of getting a gmail account and getting onto the home wireless, I clicked the "Video" app only to get the message:

"you cannot use the internal storage while it is connected and mounted via usb"

I attempted to open the "Files" app to see if it was a player issue and thought I'd check if I can at least look at the content of the NAS, USB stick but the same error appeared there. In fact on clicking the "home" icon, I got a message saying the process (com.archos.fm) had stopped unexpectedly and to try again (yeah! so I can get that same error again! I think not!).