Proxy Settings & Wifi LAN Certificates

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by AC_Iconia, May 16, 2011.

  1. AC_Iconia
    Offline

    AC_Iconia Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Hi All,

    Does anyone know how to manage proxy settings on the Acer Iconia A500?

    Also does anyone know how to install wifi LAN certificates....

    Any help will be much appreciated.

    Thanx
     
  2. rkka93
    Offline

    rkka93 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chapel Hill
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia a500
    My understanding is proxy support isn't enabled out of the box, but you have to root and use an app to manage it. The Motorola Xoom just got their Honeycomb 3.1 update today and it has enable proxy support so hopefully we won't be far behind.
     
  3. AC_Iconia
    Offline

    AC_Iconia Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Thanks for that.
    I'm not too keen on rooting mine.
    Any idea as to when 3.1 will be rolled out to the Iconia A500?
     
  4. rkka93
    Offline

    rkka93 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chapel Hill
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia a500
  5. yazmister
    Offline

    yazmister Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I found something that worked on my Iconia A500 for proxy settings...at least till 3.1 arrives.

    Download the free app: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.pdanet.tablet

    Set up the tablet as client and the app has a link to proxy settings. The first time around it took me to my regular wifi settings menu. However, I followed the recommendation for Honeycomb, which was press back and try again. On the second attempt, it took me to proxy settings successfully!

    I hope this works for you guys as a temporary fix! ​
     
  6. mantiz
    Offline

    mantiz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    got pdanet to work with my Original droid using it now to test it.....nice
     
  7. unix1adm
    Offline

    unix1adm Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    i did this too but now my tablet wont work right. any thoughts how to get back to the proxy settins without using the pdanet app? I removed it thinking that would fix things but it did not. i can get out on the net but my market is broken and my google maps says i have no connections.
     
  8. unix1adm
    Offline

    unix1adm Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    acer support is closed today bummer. i dont want to do a reset.
     
  9. unix1adm
    Offline

    unix1adm Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    i had to do a full reset to get mine back.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer a500 proxy

,

acer iconia b1 proxy

,

certificates for tablet

,

lan setting for android

,

proxy address pada acer

,

proxy lan android

,

where is lan setting in android

,

where is proxy setting on acer tablet