Reset Android 2.1 tablet

Discussion in 'Telechips TCC8902 Tablets' started by eroeurbano, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Dear all,
    I'm just looking for a way to reset my tablet,
    delete all the applications and reset al data and
    preferences as if I've just bought a new one.

    When starting to use my table I installed a lot of tablet
    and tried to root it using different softwares.
    Now that I could successfully root it (for the records using z4root works
    on a MID X5A/X6D tablet), I would just like to clean my tablet
    from all the garbage I've installed.

    Thanks in advance for any advice
    Cheers, -Luca
  2. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Open a terminal emulator and type:
    Code:
    reboot recovery 
    Then press menu when you see the android and triangle. From there you can select factory reset.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Thanks I_n,
    I can't try it right now. But before doing it, what do you mean by "Android and triangle"?
    When I start my tablet I have first a splash screen showing the Android,
    later it changes to some "android" with changing colour (like the gradient changes)
    And then some "bird" is shown on a black screen.
    When should I press Menu?
    Thanks again in any case,
    Cheers, -Luca
  4. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    You'll understand when you see the recovery screen.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Thanks again :)
  6. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Hi, I did as you wrote, but after the reboot command
    the tablest just turned off.
    I turned it on and pressed menu,
    but nothing appears (the screen is black!)
    And I'm not able to turn it off!
    Can you please help me???
  7. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    If it will power down via the power button, power back up while holding the Home button. Hold it until the recovery screen appears.
  8. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    unfortunately it doesn't power down :( what can I do???
  9. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Do you have the sdk installed? If so, try accessing it via adb or fastboot.
    Code:
    adb devices
    or
    fastboot devices 
    If it's listed by either of those two programs, you can reboot it from your PC.
    • Like Like x 2
  10. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    I'm sorry I'm completely new to this... where can I find this sdk? I use ubuntu...
    Did I brick my tablet???
  11. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Probably not, but it's going to take some work to resurrect it. Take a look at the coby ultimate guide post for info on the sdk. Post here when you've got it installed and I'll help you some more.
  12. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Thanks!
    I'm going to install the SDK and tonight I'll try to work on it!
  13. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    I've tried the " adb devices" command, but no device is listed...
    Am I doing something wrong?
  14. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    You may need to find a copy of fastboot if it's stuck in the bootloader.
  15. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Hi, I finally managed to get out of the bootloader. Though the tablet is still not reset to its factory status.
    I don't understand very well the steps you told me so far.
    Could someone give me a step by step help (starting from the needed
    application and explaining the reset procedure).
    Thanks in advance for your help.
    Cheers, 'Luca
  16. xaueious
    Offline

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Reboot recovery might not work on some of these newer batches. I never got one of these newer ones to figure out why. For ADB, you need the funky TCC8902 drivers...

    If you could follow the ultimate guide, you might be able to use one of the recovery.img files located here Index of /experimental/20101212. Try X5A, X5A-G, or X6D depending on the version you have. Good luck.
    • Like Like x 2
  17. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Sorry but some things are like arabic for me :) what is the TCC8902 driver? Also, I can't understand the different kind of roms I find..
    what i the difference between the Clockwork and the adb one? Thanks for the helo and explanations!
  18. eroeurbano
    Offline

    eroeurbano Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Hi, I could finally manage to get adb running correctly.
    It was simply a matter of permission on Linux, I had to start it as root.
    Now my device is listed.
    Though when I run
    adb reboot recovery it doesn't reboot in recovery mode.
    I want to sell my tablet and need to Wipe all the data and reset it to the factory
    defaults.
    The "Reset factory data" in the settings menu doesn't work,
    can someone help me please?
    Cheers, -Luca
  19. Loonix
    Offline

    Loonix Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NULL
    plug in the USB cable, then select the 'factory reset' menu point in android.
    at least my pad needs that ^^

    I think if you want to sell it you should flash a fresh firmware using the 'low format full memory before download' option from FWDN.
  20. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    in linux, you can do this to change adb to run setuid (i.e. run as the owner of the file):
    Code:
    chmod 4755 <filename>

Share This Page